The Beartooth Highway. US Rte. 212


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
August 17th 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had a chance to meet my friend Jeff Banfield out on Island Lake in the Beartooth Wilderness and decided that I would take the long way there. I left Bozeman and went through Yellowstone National Park from West Yellowstone to Cooke City. By the time I got to Cooke City it was dark and I decided I'll sleep in the truck for the evening. It ended up being a smart move as it started raining cats and dogs all evening. The following morning I got up at sunrise and started my way up the Beartooth Highway. I would try to explain the burliness of this road, but I feel I would fail in almost all attempts. So I will let the pictures I took do the talking. I know they aren't the best pictures, but you have to remember for the most part I was driving in clouds and mist the whole time. The cloud cover didn't ruin the drive at all, as a matter of fact I feel that it magnified it in some aspects. It added a more enchanting kind of feeling to it. The drive was beautiful and it was nice to hang out with Jeff for a
Clouds Pouring Off the MountainsClouds Pouring Off the MountainsClouds Pouring Off the Mountains

I had just driven through those clouds trying to push there way over the mountain. The Beartooth is over in that direction.
day while we made our way down to Red Lodge (a nice Mountain town that doesn't have the feel of a tourist trap like West Yellowstone or Old Orchard Beach). So please enjoy the photos and if you are ever around the Beartooth Highway when the road is open (It is only open from Memorial Day to mid-September), much like the Going-to-the-Sun Road, please take the time to drive it and enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The only picture I got of JeffThe only picture I got of Jeff
The only picture I got of Jeff

He's driving the minivan and camper.
A Botched Shot that ended up looking nice.A Botched Shot that ended up looking nice.
A Botched Shot that ended up looking nice.

I SWEAR I wasn't driving and taking pictures at the same time...really...
Over the MountainOver the Mountain
Over the Mountain

My truck was on top of that thing, maybe I was driving when I took this, but as you can tell my eyes are on the road!
Landslide DamageLandslide Damage
Landslide Damage

Scars of the mudslides/landslides that took out a chunk of the highway in 2005


13th November 2007

Whoa
Looks cool man. I need to get up there next year. I'm glad you didn't drive off the side of the mountain whilst you were driving while photographing. Well done sir.

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb