South Dakota/Yellowstone


Advertisement
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The first portion of the pictures were taken on the way to Wyoming; I've never taken pictures before of the drive from Minnesota to Colorado, so I decided that it was time.

Mom, John and I drove to Colorado to see our family (lots of family!) We made a detour and spent a couple of days in Yellowstone National Park. It was John's and my first time there; I can see why so many people travel from so far away to see it - it is amazing. As my mom says, it shows that the earth is indeed alive.

One of the highlights was that we rode horses, which was unbelievably great with the scenery that we had around us. My horse's name was Trooper; unfortunately I have no picture of him. He was sweet. Mom's (Skipper) was very stubborn and rebelious (but great) and John's (Sandy) was also kind of a rebel.

Another high point of the time we had in Yellowstone was when we were driving from one place to another and buffalo decided to show us that they were in charge of the park, not those weird metal roaring engines with humans in them. One buffalo actually positioned himself in front of a line of cars, and started walking. The cars slowly followed behind, and the buffalo strutted along until he was satisfied, moved out of the way, and the cars drove away. Then, he got back on the road and walked back to where he had started, and led the next line of cars.

We camped outside at a camp site close to Lake Yellowstone and pretty close to Old Faithful. It was great! I'd definitely like to go again and spend more time there; it is too much for just two days, but we packed in quite a bit, which was good. I even got to cross the Montana border, so now I can say that I've been to Montana.

Okay, well, time for pictures, and then a Colorado post.


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th August 2008

Pretty pix
I like the sunflowers and the buffalo :)

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb