From the Comfort Suites in Portage, Wisconsin


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin
December 24th 2007
Published: December 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well…I haven’t gotten a lot of sleep in the last few days. It is now Sunday night. The movers came on Friday after much back and forth. First they weren’t going to be able to make it, then they called and said they were on their way!!! Needless to say, I was in panic mode…But now it’s all done. I just have to wait, and hope all my stuff gets to Seattle in one piece!!!

Last Friday, on the 14th, I had a going away party at Mom’s house. It was a great turn-out, and it was nice to see everyone. Robyn, Michelle, Harold, and I stayed up until 4am, just chatting away😊 The rest of the weekend, I spent frantically trying to pack things up. I did get some help, which was greatly appreciated. You never realize how much stuff you accumulate over the years, until you have to go through it all, piece by piece. For those of you who have been to my house, you know it was definitely necessary to PURGE!!! I have given so much stuff away, it’s unbelievable that I still have SO much…

This past week was kind of a whirlwind. I was kind of crazy, and decided to work the week before I was leaving!!! Now I know that wasn’t such a good idea…but whatever. After my last day of work on Thursday, we went out to a place called Four Greenfields, a nice Irish bar. It was a blast, and of course again, little sleep was had by all 😉

So, by the time today rolled around, I have been going on not so much sleep. We left at 8:30am. It was 50 degrees, and raining on and off. It quickly dropped many degrees to the teens, and the wind picked up to crazy proportions. Heidi drove the first stretch until we got to Illinois. It kind of felt like we were on a boat—the wind was throwing my car around all over the place. Then, it was my turn to drive. The traffic picked up around Chicago, and then the snow started blowing. We couldn’t really tell if it was snowing for real, or if it was just old snow blowing. Then, we started hitting the ice. We saw MULTIPLE overturned cars, and cars that had just slid off the road. Then it really started snowing, no question about it. But we just drove slowly, and we finally made it to where we wanted to stay. Almost 500 miles today!!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb