my first blog entry


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Rice Lake
February 1st 2009
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

My name is Rachel White. I am one of those people that just can't get enough of life. I love life and love challenges! Right now, I am planning on an amazing life-changing experience as an AFS exchange student studying abroad in Argentina! Can you believe it? I'm SO excited.

So, what made me want to go on an exchange program? Well, there are so many reasons. Like I mentioned earlier, I want to make the most out of my life. But what really got me was that I have hosted foreign exchange students before and what they experience is incredible! To see them learn a language, meet new people, and learn about so much including about themselves...unbelievable. Also, in college I plan to major in International Affairs and marketing, and minor in Spanish and Portuguese. I hope to learn a few more languages on the way.

One thing I am a bit worried about for this trip is $$. But, thanks to AFS I have gotten a huge scholarship. I owe so much to them, and I am SO happy for this! One reason I chose AFS is because they have been SO helpful to me from the start. I would also like to thank Amy Myers who has always been there to answer my questions. If you are at all thinking of becoming an exchange student, I would highly recommend the AFS program. I cannot explain how much of a help they've been to me, and I am not the least bit worried about anything on this trip.

I chose to become an AFSer during high school because I want to do all I can while I can. A bonus part to this is it will help college. I can learn so much during high school, and the experience of being a teenager of a different culture...very cool. I also plan to do an exchange in college in a different language than spanish. I'm positive that these exchanges will have a huge impact on my life and i know they will be completely different.

As of my thoughts for this, I have mixed feelings depending on the day. But the excitement never leaves me. Sometimes I feel that I will miss people here (especially my brother and boyfriend) which I know I will, but I won't let that stand in the way of this awesome challenge in my life. I know that I will come back home and that everything will be back to normal...well not exactly normal...because life has so much more to offer than the norm...but just great again.

I have had a lot of supporters so far for this trip but a lot of my friends are really sad that I will be leaving for a year. Which is understandable as I will be missing them just as much. Mostly I get the "well I guess I want you to be happy, but I really dont want you to leave!!"

Well I'll update when I get more information about where I'm going, who my family is, and what else is going on!!!

P.S. LAUGH today!!! SMILE too!!! haha

Love, Rachel Lea

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb