New Travels … Great Quote


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
December 26th 2013
Published: January 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello All.

It has been awhile, and I apologize for that.

Over the next couple of weeks I will be publishing several blogs on my recent European adventures.

Today's blog, however, is not about any particular adventure.

Instead, I wanted to say a couple of things about travel generally.

To that end, I begin with a quote from St. Augustine.

"The world is a book, and those who don't travel only read one page."

I do not believe there is a single sentence in the history of the written word that I agree with more.

I was reminded of these sage words when I recently viewed them graffitied onto the Lennon Wall in Prague (for the record, the Lennon Wall celebrates the life and contributions of iconic musician and activist John Lennon, and not the father of Soviet Communism Vladimir Lenin … Go Figure!).

Since you are reading a travel blog (you are), you probably agree St. Augustine to one degree or another, but all the same, I would urge you to devote whatever resources you can to seeing the world.

Put off the new car purchase for another year … downsize Christmas gift-giving ... save up … and take a trip, a wonderful trip.

Trust me you will not be disappointed.

And drag your kids along, because years from now they will not reminisce about the new Lexis you got in 2013, but they will remember the beauty of the Grand Canyon, the sun setting over the North Shore of Oahu and that fact that the most humble restaurant in Italy can make spaghetti carbonara that tastes better than any carbonara produced anywhere in North America.

Enjoy the photo, and also note the admonition to "tell your mother you love her." Perhaps not as poetic as St. Augustine, but sound advice all the same.

Stay tuned ...

Advertisement



14th January 2014

Sound advice....
...and my mother thanks you. Now, time to plan the Spring Break trip.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb