Ode to America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
July 4th 2010
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Oh, say can you see, by the dawn's early light,

While in the United States this past month, I was privileged to see many people who were a part of my past and have helped to shape my future. I am grateful to the people at my church in Madison, Wisconsin, for supporting every endeavor I have undertaken: from theatre in elementary school, to piano competitions in high school, to studying abroad in college, and to now living in China for the foreseeable future. I am also thankful to have been able to see my childhood best friend, who I met when I was two years old. We have the kind of friendship that allows us to pick up right where we left off, even when we don't see each other for years at a time. Above all else, I am so happy to have had the opportunity to spend time with my family in Wisconsin; family is everything to me.

What so proudly we hailed at the twilight's last gleaming?

The twilight, sunrises, sunsets, and everything in between have been a joy to experience in the United States. My lungs are singing from the respite from city air and I feel renewed and invigorated from this good old Wisconsin environment. There is something so comforting about coming back and seeing the farmland that feeds so many Americans and citizens abroad; I feel proud to have grown up here.

Whose broad stripes and broad stars, through the perilous fight,

The night sky in Wisconsin is like a jewel-strewn dark carpet. I feel lucky to have been able to see the stars throughout my childhood. Though I prefer the big city life now, I would not have traded growing up in the country for anything.

O'er the ramparts we watched, were so gallantly streaming?

I have to say, the one aspect of summer in Wisconsin I have never missed, is the "streaming" wind, or, rather, the occasionally violent thunderstorms that spawn tornadoes! Since I was a child, I have dreaded the inevitable tornado warning siren that sounds when funnel clouds are spotted in the area. I'm not sure I'll ever outgrow that silly fear!

And the rockets' red glare, the bombs bursting in air,

One of the best ways to celebrate the Fourth of July in Madison is to attend Rhythm and Booms, the largest fireworks display in the Midwest. My dad and I went this year and spent an entertaining few hours people-watching before the big event. The highlight of the night (aside from the fireworks) was the F-16 fly-over. Timed perfectly right as the national anthem ended, the four F-16 fighter jets flew in a perfect diamond formation right over the crowd. They never fail to give me goosebumps and instill in me a sense of patriotic pride.

Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there

I have loved being back in Madison this summer. It was a wonderful opportunity, and a grand way to say goodbye to my childhood house that is on the market and will likely be sold in the coming months. Though I had to make some tough decisions (such as selling my car), it is time to move forward and onward. I think all four Wilsons are excited about what the future will hold.

Oh say, does that star spangled banner yet wave

I am so very proud to be an American. Though I live in China now, my heart and my soul will always be loyal to the stars and stripes.

O'er the land of the free, and the home of the brave!

As a child, I sang those words rather carelessly at sporting events or at school. Though familiar lyrics, I never really thought about the meaning behind the words until I was living overseas. Living in China is a wonderful experience, but the people there do not enjoy the same freedom that we do in the United States. So, this Fourth of July, please take a moment to give thanks, and appreciate everything that we have in this most wonderful of nations.

Happy Independence Day!





Advertisement



4th July 2010

Ode to America
Its funny that travel makes one so awear of the freedoms we take for granted in our own country. Love reading your posts. Have a safe and happy 4th...Jim in Washington State.

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb