Wisconsin, Stevens Point, Rudolph area


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
July 19th 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My parents, my grandparents and myself flew to Illinois and from there we rented a car and drove to Wisconsin. We were there for my great aunt and uncle's 50th wedding anniversary. It was a nice trip. I met soooo many relatives! Also, I ate deep fried cheese curds dipped in ketchup (Heinz of course). They were delicious 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Giant FortGiant Fort
Giant Fort

This tree house was just a short hike from the entrance at Schmeeckle Reserve. It was really awesome to see a huge fort in the middle of a forest
Dad at Schmeeckle ReserveDad at Schmeeckle Reserve
Dad at Schmeeckle Reserve

Schmeeckle Reserve was a very pleasant surprise. It's like a huge backyard but open to the public. I think its owned by the University.
Beer StreetBeer Street
Beer Street

This is Stevens Point Brewery. The beer is good but not my favorite.
A Wisconsin MapA Wisconsin Map
A Wisconsin Map

This map was outside Ehlenbach's Cheese Chalet
More Cheese PleaseMore Cheese Please
More Cheese Please

I got into arguments with several Wisconsiners about who is the real cheese state. California? Wisconsin? hmmmm. Well, in California, Happy Cows Make Happy Cheese (or something like that). But, in Wisconsin they have cheese curds. I have yet to see cheese curds sold in Cali. I wasn't able to taste enough cheeses in Wisconsin to really get a feel for their cheese. I'm not sure if I'm qualified to have an opinion on this but I think cheese is cheese is cheese, and cheese is always delicious :)
The Cheese ChaletThe Cheese Chalet
The Cheese Chalet

Ehlenbach's Cheese Chalet was built in 1964. They have iver 200 different types of cheese and also sell home-made German style meats. It is located about 10 minutes North of Madison. They ship Cheese and Sausage and are open all year round. www.ehlenbachscheese.com I didn't actually memorize all that, I bought a postcard, haha. It was a cool place and I would go back. However, they were a bit scanty with the cheese. We had to ask for a sample, they didn't offer. So, we only tried one type of cheese. It was very tasty. :)
Dad, Grandpa and I with the giant cowDad, Grandpa and I with the giant cow
Dad, Grandpa and I with the giant cow

I would love to have one of these in my yard. People would always be able to find my house.
I went huntingI went hunting
I went hunting

Just kidding, these were in the Schcmeeckle Reserve Visitors Center.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb