Day 4: Chicago to Sioux Falls


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » La Crosse
August 17th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Grandad BluffGrandad BluffGrandad Bluff

Overlooking Wisconsin. (The Iowa pictures didn't come out so well.)
Miles traveled today: 574

After a leisurely start from our hotel, we packed into the car with no plan other than to get in as many miles as possible. The heat, sun, and pure boredom made us take a midafternoon detour into a little town called La Crosse, Wisconsin. We didn’t expect much beyond a look out called Grandad Bluff found on Trip Advisor.

When we tried to drive up to the Bluff, we found the road blocked. Not willing to give up, I changed into my running clothes and jogged the remaining mile and half up to the bluff, a total climb of about 600 feet. It took me a crazy twenty-three minutes to make it up such a short distance! (The descent went much faster.)

The view from the bluff was nice and I could see three different states: Iowa, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. (I never got to be in Iowa, but I could see it!) After my return down, we drove through the quaint historic downtown of La Crosse and crossed the bridge over the Mississippi (my first crossing of the famed river) while I forced my mom to stick her hand out the window to
Missippippi RiverMissippippi RiverMissippippi River

My photo while driving. I'll spare you by not sharing the ones that my mom took from the car window. :-)
take pictures.

It was night when we were finally in South Dakota and decided to stop driving. We quickly got into bed, looking forward to the following day: The Badlands National Park and Mount Rushmore.

Total miles logged: 1757



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Us by the MissippippiUs by the Missippippi
Us by the Missippippi

We stopped at an overlook of the river and stretched our legs one last time before heading out.
Wind Farms!Wind Farms!
Wind Farms!

The highlight of our day- being the first to spot another wind farm and point it out to the other.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb