Hiding Out in Appleton


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Appleton
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Appleton

09Jul07
I rode to Appleton following Hwy 35 south as per Jamie's recommendation. County roads designated with letters (a,b,c...) are fun twisty diversions east through farmland which I followed for a while until I realized no one knows where I'm riding and wouldn't be able to find me if... These small towns along the way carry a lot of history as settlers moved west. I took a picture of a railway bridge which seems awkwardly designed and probably was built at the turn of the 19th century. Probably steam powered too.

10Jul07
Woke up this morning and extended my stay in Appleton because of forecasted severe winds and thundershowers for today. It allowed me to get my haircut and wander around town. Amazing how fast the storms arrive. I returned back to the hotel to get something and when I stepped out 15 minutes later the sky had darkened, winds picked up and full thundershowers were underway.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb