Country Roads - Chapter 1: Home Away From Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » West Virginia » Fayetteville
November 27th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Front PorchFront PorchFront Porch

You have no idea how dark it gets at night...
I booked four nights at a rustic mountain cottage, the New River. Doug and Sally have not been managing the facility for a year yet. As I pulled up off the single lane road and past the red barn mailbox, two dogs, close to a Golden Retriever, and an indescribable mutt of easily a dozen breeds, raced at me from behind a barn, both barking sternly. Naturally, my first reaction was to dive back in the car and try to defend myself with a can of mace to ensure they would not prance off with any of my internal organs. But, at second glance, they were harmless and simply there to greet me. The canine welcome became official when the larger pooch peed on the left front fender of my car. Now having been approved by security, I went in to check out my accommodations. No heat but for a wood stove and two tiny space heaters, it is as simple as it is cozy. The furniture is worn, but the structure is spotlessly clean. The basic amenities enhance the setting. So silent are the surroundings, the only detectable sound is the babbling brook rushing behind the front entrance. Sally, the
Source of HeatSource of HeatSource of Heat

Am I adept enough to figure this out?
proprietress, welcomed me in her absence by leaving a kind note (sadly this included my bill for the stay) and freshly baked cookies, and the offer for me to choose any room that I preferred. Doug took time from installing some decorations and lights on one of the barns and splitting firewood to also welcome me and to start the wood stove. The cottage was very little warmer that the outside. Flurries were in the forecast.
Doug loaded the stove and lit the kindling with a match. “There you go. Place will be warm in no time. You know how to manage the stove yourself, right?”
In theory, I did. But I also knew that I could be neglectful of such contraptions. I am much more adept to natural gas heat and a thermometer with a digital display. Doug letting me run a wood stove was akin to my possibly freezing to death if under any other circumstances. “Sure. Do it all the time. No problem.” The fire was out in two hours, in spite of my best efforts. I knew I still had the two space heaters anyway.
I took a look around at my removed setting. Comfortable, but
Nighty-nightNighty-nightNighty-night

Do I have to make my own bed?
extremely basic. No TV, no DVD player, and very few lights. Almost utter silence. I loved it. It took no time for me to be at ease with my new home for the next few days.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb