Lower Granite Dam


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
June 18th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So the day after I quit my full time job I headed out to the Lower Granite Dam. Dams may not seem interesting to some of you, but have you ever visited one?

While each dam of course is different, there is an abundance of interesting life around some of these dams. For Lower Granite, I was pleasantly surprise to find large numbers of pelicans. Yes, you read that correct, pelicans.

We were cautious and kept our distance, but we did stop on the side of the road to watch them as I have never seen one outside of seeing them on TV. They were as skittish of us as we were with them. When we walked closer to the water they would swim further away from us even though there was already a good distance between us. I could probably spend hours just watching them.

Once we arrived at the dam we were not sure what to expect so we started just wandering around.

We were greeted by, Wayne Snider, one of the volunteers that work at the dam's visitor center while we were trying to watch the fish.

Wayne was very helpful in explaining why we were having such a hard time viewing the fish in the ladder (water was full of debris due to the high water levels). As Wayne and I talked more, I learned so much about the dam and the river.

When you visit places like these, stop and talk to the volunteers and ask questions. They are so full of information that you would be surprised as to what you can learn. Thanks Wayne for the friendly and informative conversation.

I will be returning to the dam hopefully in a couple weeks to go through the tour of the dam that is offered. I also want to sit and watch those fish in the ladder again when the water is more clear, the angler in me drooling at the size of the ones that we were able to see in the murky waters.

I will definitely post how it goes.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb