Day 2 - Whidbey Island to Winthrop, WA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
August 26th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Judy made oatmeal and toast (from Ed's homemade bread) before I said goodbye and hit the road again. The sun was shining and it stayed that way all day!

Spent most of the day driving and hiking and ferry boat riding in the North Cascades (an area that I've wanted to visit for many years but never made it until now). I hiked the length of Diablo Lake on a trail that rose about 1000 feet above the lake (amazing views!) and then took a ferry boat back to my starting point. Very cool! It was incredibly beautiful and the weather was perfect for hiking and driving the Miata (in the 70's most of the day).

Ended up in the small "mock Western" town of Winthrop (think "old plank sidewalks, saloons and cowboys"). I hadn't done any prior research on this town, so I was surprised at what I found.

Another great day!

Jack




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



28th August 2009

wow
That looks beautiful Jack!! And so much more to come:)

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb