The wayward journey home.. Tacoma,Washington


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
July 30th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have been living in Washington for almost a year now.But Ive been away from my fair Washington for for almost two long months with work and traveling and family illness and now my own illness but finally if there are no more setbacks I will be returning home next weekend.It will be a wonderful reunion with my Rainier.

I've had an affinity with the pacific northwest ever since I was a child and began my fascination with the pacific ring of fire volcanos,several of which span throughout the Cascades.I used to have vivid dreams as a child about the Cascades.I was obsessed and fascinated with Washington and Oregon and Rainier and St.Helens.And finally last year for the first time I drove into Tacoma and gazed upon Rainier.I remember I was driving in and nearly wrecked my car on highway 16 getting a look at Rainier.It was August of 2008 when I first saw Rainier up close,it was a dry day as it had been dry for several days..funny everyone always thinks of the pacific northwest as constantly rainy but its only during the rainy season which is about late September or early October through May.during the summer months its actually quite dry.well I digress.When I first saw the mountain I just knew that my life was there with it looming over me,protecting me. I remember thinking.."So much to study and learn about this mountain,mudslides,lahars,volcanic activity the epitomy of the stratovolcano.." Yes I am a scientist but theres more to it than that.Native American legends called it "Tahoma" which means "mother of waters".There is another legend that suggests that rainier was a rain warrior god,its all the same basic tale of a regal protector.
Home is where your soul is and when I finally return home I will return with a new life,alot of changes and a new child that grows within me.This child will see all of the glory of the pacific northwest.I will teach this one all about the legends and the beauty of Rainier that I have discovered .Rainier will continue to protect my children as it has protected me.I hope that this child will look upon Washington and the cascades with wide eyed wonderment as I have.Oh I have such sweet sights to show you little miracle of mine:-)Home sweet home.
Some photos that I have of home for your viewing pleasure..




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb