Finally checking in


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Sequim
November 2nd 2011
Published: November 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Route 66Route 66Route 66

This was taken in Seligman, AZ on the drive out. I got to meet Angel Delgadillo, a retired barber (84 years young) who began the efforts to save Route 66 from extinction. He occasionally still cuts hair and I got a haircut from him when I was there!
This long lost traveler has not fallen off the face of the earth. But I did stand on a cliff Tuesday overlooking the Pacific Ocean from the extreme north western tip of the Olympic Peninsula.

The past four weeks have been a nonstop, full speed ahead adventure. It started with 2500 miles from NC to CA in 6 days.

I learned a ton of stuff at the CA Photo Festival in San Luis Obispo and then began to work my way up the coast. Visited the Hearst Castle on my way to Monterey and then up to San Francisco. I managed to get a sinus infection along the way and had a few down days in SF while the antibiotics kicked in. Then it was back to sightseeing.

After SF I went up to Eureka, CA and visited Redwood NP. From there I explored the Willamette Valley of Oregon from Corvallis, OR.

I spent the last 4 days on the Olympic Peninsula of Washington.

Thursday (Nov 3) I'm taking the ferry from Port Townsend to Coupeville (Whidbey Island) where my iPhoneography class starts on Friday.

After that I'm heading back down to CA to Napa
MissionMissionMission

in San Luis Obispo
and Sonoma and then to Yosemite NP.

Oh and while I was in SF, I managed to procure a new iPhone 4S. I ended up spending most of the afternoon and evening in the Apple store that day. Got all my data transferred to the new iPhone and then upgraded my iPad to iOS 5. After that, I upgraded my Mac laptop to the latest OS system (Lion) so I could have everything synced up with iCloud.

For the most part it was a smooth transition with only a few glitches here and there. I ran into some issues tonight trying to transfer files to the iPad to work on for this blog and ended up doing a couple of basic things in PS instead.

Here are a few images from along the way. Most have had minimum editing.

Hope you enjoy the update. I'll try and post a little more often during the remainder of the trip. Thanks for following along with us.

Bruce and Chessy



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hearst CastleHearst Castle
Hearst Castle

Pond in the fog.
Lone TreeLone Tree
Lone Tree

In Pebble Beach, CA along the famous 17 mile road.
Apple HeadquartersApple Headquarters
Apple Headquarters

in Cupertino, CA. I drove down while in SF.
Cable CarCable Car
Cable Car

in Chinatown, SF.
Wright BuildingWright Building
Wright Building

In keeping with a mini theme from my last trip, here is a building designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in San Francisco.
Little Red SchoolLittle Red School
Little Red School

near Orick, CA.
VineyardVineyard
Vineyard

at Firesteed Winery in OR.
Cape FlatteryCape Flattery
Cape Flattery

The most northwestern corner of the Olympic Peninsula in WA.
FlagFlag
Flag

Painted on the old dairy barn which now houses Olympic Cellars Winery in Port Angeles, WA.
Hurricane RidgeHurricane Ridge
Hurricane Ridge

In Olympic NP. The winds were blowing very strong this morning before the rains moved in.


Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb