I bought my ticket; my journey begins


Advertisement
Published: September 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

US states that I've explored


That map over there is all the U.S. states that I have visited. I've traveled through many more of them and seen enough of the U.S.A. with my own eyes to feel content. I guess it's high time for me to venture out and see some other countries, eh?

So, I've been dreaming about this trip for years, talking it up for months, planning it for weeks, and procrastinating the whole damn time.

Even if I wanted to, I can't put things off any longer. 'Cause I bought my ticket today.

Hours of shopping at over 20 travel sites led me to a $530 one-way ticket on China Air from San Francisco to Bangkok. It's a 22 hour trip with a four-hour stopover in Taipei, Taiwan.

Hell, even the flight sounds great. I can take a trip down to San Francisco and visit friends before heading out. I can probably read a whole damn book on the flight. I can have breakfast on Saturday morning in Taipei, hopefully with one of my friends there. Then I can arrive in Thailand exhausted and scared and ready for anything.

The plan--as of now--is to buy a motorcycle in Thailand and ride it around Southeast Asia. If it lasts long enough, I can take it with me through India. My ultimate destination in India will be Mumbai, where I'd like to look into the Bollywood movie industry. Then I think I'll take a boat (or several) down around the Arabian Peninsula, possibly stopping off in cool places like Qatar and Dubai. The boats are gonna have to get me to Israel and Crete (in Greece). Crete is where the Nakis family comes from and that's where I'll have my heritage-discovery part of my trip (which I think is an obligatory thing for Americans travelling abroad; or at least it should be). From there, I'd like to head up to the Black Sea in Russia, then over to the center of Europe and buy a Eurorail pass. I've got friends in Germany, Sweden, Norway, and England. I have other friends from the U.S. who want to meet up with me in Amsterdam. I also have that whole network of friends' friends and associates that'll provide a myriad of opportunities for exploring Europe. So, Europe should be at least as fun as Asia. Hopefully my money lasts until summer and I can check out all those great European Metal Fests. After that, I'd like to take a plane from England to New York. Then I'll visit the East Coasts friends and family (look out NYC, Providence, and Boston!). After thatm it's just a matter of finding my way across the U.S., which will seem really breezy after all my foreign wanderings.

With my ticket bought, today marks the beginning of my month-long goodbye party and the wrapping up of loose ends. I think that's interesting, so I'll be writing a journal of it all here on this blog. That means steady entries start now.

Enjoy.

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

until I cross the threshold



Advertisement



6th September 2006

Congradulations!
Yay, good for you! We must hang out many times before you leave, especially since you'll be somewhat close. I am very happy for you, how exciting!
6th September 2006

Yes!
That's exactly what I'm talking about!!! Let's meet up.
6th September 2006

Wow
This sure sounds impressive Nic. I hope you have an awesome time. I'll definitely check this blog out now and then. You should go to that island south of crete that is possibly atlantis, santorini I think, where a volcano erupted 3500 years ago and destroyed the minoan culture. Okay, rock on.
6th September 2006

Thank God
Jezz - Thank God you're actually going away and not just talking about it!!! Good luck and stay alive.
7th September 2006

'Bout time
Finally you're getting outa here - and not just talking about it. Have fun and stay alive!
16th September 2006

that sounds like the definition of an Amazing Journey. i was kind of stunned, reading your entries- even though i'm sure that's the impact you're going for. i wonder how different you'll be when you come back, if at all.. although i don't think one could embark on such a trip without the notion of self-discovery and change being a top priority. i'm going to follow this, and probably continue to be amazed at how little i know about you. i don't think i need to tell you to be safe. but have fun. i'll relay what you're doing to jamie and we'll both be jealous.

Tot: 0.614s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 62; dbt: 0.4394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb