Storm Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seaview
August 29th 2015
Published: August 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

blog 08-29-15 The Storm

Last night was violent. We had a storm that started Friday morning just as a few showers then the major part of the storm hit last night. The winds were ferocious, gusting to 65 mph, with steady winds about 35mph. Back East that would have been a hurricane, here it was an early Fall storm. I woke to the sound of the surf pounding the shore and the wind howling through the trees. I am about 300 yards from the ocean. I had taken everything in last night and laid the chairs down on the rug so nothing would blow away. It was wonderful to hear it rain, it had not rained here for 2 months, but the wind was unwelcome. There were boater warnings out and the fisherman had to get everything under cover.

I wanted to see the ocean so I drove to Long Beach and drove down the beach access road as far as it was paved. It is permissible to drive on the beach here but I didn't feel that lucky, I'd prefer 4 wheel drive. Poor Petunia had been through enough yesterday, didn't want to bog her down in the sand today.

I snapped some pictures of the strong surf and the people bundled against the wind. The grasses were blowing like waves and the loose sand was flying. It was very turbulent.

I decided to investigate Long Beach a little and drove down some side roads and found the old houses built in the 1880's. They are beautifully cared for and some are for rent on a weekly basis. Pictures

Then I stopped at the grocery store and got of few things then back to the camp. My neighbor's tent had been blown over early in the morning and they were waiting for a break in the rain to pack it up. Everything was soaked. She was staying with her parents who had a trailer here so she stayed with them. I was happy to have bigger campers next to me, they acted as wind breaks.

Oscar was reluctant to go out but managed to get out long enough to take care of business then back inside. He is a fair weather dog.

So am I, we spent the rest of the afternoon watching tv and listening to the wind.

It was an early to bed night, I'm going on an eco tour in the morning on a boat. Megan and I had tried to find a boat ride but the one we found didn't have anymore room for us. I called him today and he had one space left for the morning at 9 am for a 3 hr tour. I booked it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb