Day 8: Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
January 4th 2012
Published: January 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a pretty full on day, but first let me explain last night.

I ended up chilling out in the rec room with a bunch of other travellers for a couple of hours, sharing stories and listening to music. There were 3 guys who are here on work trade, which is where they work 4 hours a day and then get free accommodation. One guy was here to kick off a music career (hopefully) so he played us a few songs on his guitar and harmonica. There were also a couple of travellers like myself so we just shared stories and plans for our trips.

Anyway, onto today. I woke up around 9 and headed downstairs for my free breakfast. Yes, I actually ate breakfast. First thing after that I headed back to the market to check it out in the morning. I thought it would be packed but it wasnt, it was completely dead. Anyway, I ended up buying some dack chocolate linguini, which I cooked up for dinner... more on that later.

I made it to Bill Spiedel's underground tour for the 12pm tour. It was really interesteing. The tour guide talked to us about how Seattle was founded and how the city was originally built basically on the water table, but was eventually elevated after a fire that burned down 33 square blocks of the city. Some of the original underground is still accessable, so the tour took us down to some of this to see what was down there.

From here I headed to Safeco Field - home of the Seattle Mariners baseball team. The tour had only 6 people: 4 adults and 2 children. We looked around the "usual" tour sites - corporate suites, media box, away team locker room and the pitch. We also went to a media confrence room that is reserved only to introduce first year players. One really cool thing though was the tour guide ended up giving us free tshirts since we were such a small group. SCORE!!!

As I headed back home I bought all the essentials for dinner: raspberries and whipped cream. Yumm. The chocolate pasta was OK. I wouldnt have it every night but it actually wasnt that bad. Now a bunch of us that met over dinner are waiting to get into the theater to watch 7 Pounds. There is a whole library of movies here that you can borrow and watch in a 21 seat theater room, the only catch is it is first come first serve.

Tomorrow I plan on going to the Boeing Factory/Museum, assuming there is space on the afternoon tour. One person I met over dinner studies Aerospace Engineering and was keen to go, so we figured if we go together it would be good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb