An Ode to Backpacking


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lobster tails...Lobster tails...Lobster tails...

or prawns or halibut or whatever you want at the Pike markets
The most common question I get asked after "funny accent where are you from?" is by far: "Soooo, you quit a great job and went traveling around the world, why?". Since I'm not exactly sure what the answer is to that question, I usually pause for a bit which generally means that the person asking the question tries to find an answer himself: "What are you running away from?", "Are you trying to find yourself?", "Are you writing a book?", "Have you recently divorced?" and so on.

As a traveler you meet all kinds of fellow travelers. The funny thing is that although I have only been on the road for about six weeks, I have already met hundreds of people and in fact met all of those people mentioned above. I have met the recently divorced guy who is trying to rediscover the world and his own independence, I have met a girl who is running away from her dysfunctional family (she has been traveling for 2 1/2 years now!), I have met a guy who is looking for inspiration for a book and the girl who is having a gap year to figure out where she belongs in
Eagle timber statue, VancouverEagle timber statue, VancouverEagle timber statue, Vancouver

Yes, its spring time so its actually really warm but there's still plenty of snow on the mountains only 20min from downtown Vancouver - isnt that cool?
the world.

This all led me to think about why it is so many people travel and why it seems to be such a universally loved pastime. Apart from the apparent reason of the destinations themselves why is it so great to travel? Is it the adventure, no responsibilities, for inspiration, the time out, to learn, to meet new people or the fact that your fundamental beliefs and attitudes are challenged? I would be interested to hear your thoughts on this as I believe it is different for everyone.

Time
For me it is a combination of all of the above, especially being challenged, meeting new people and having time. I believe that time is one of those priceless things in the modern world. How many of you have been on a "time management" course trying to become not only more efficient at work but also finding a way to get more leisure time. I remember with great horror when my course facilitator took out a one meter string symbolises a life time and then cut off 1/3 of it for sleep, 1/3 for work, 1/5 for chores and so on until there was only a couple of
Pike Market SeattlePike Market SeattlePike Market Seattle

Where you can buy anything your heart desires
centimeters left which symbolised my leisure time. Freaky. And the worst part is that I was totally guilty of being a 21st century professional time snatcher! I would schedule in every minute of my day - work, training, dinner, drinks (lots of those) and even schedule in food and sleep. How bad is that? So that's why for me, traveling means not having any plans at all, just going with the flow, waking up, checking out the weather to see what's on for today. And even having time to think and doing crazy things like writing a blog about time :-) To me time is a true luxury that we all should prioritise and cherish!

People & Hearts
Meeting new and different people is the second reason I love traveling so much. Its funny but from a genetic point of view humans are something like 99% identical yet no two people live exactly the same life or think the same way. And that's what I find so interesting. Although I have really only done extensive traveling in the Western world where people are a lot more homogeneous compared to the 3rd world, I still marvel at the fact that
In the city of hundres of coffee shops...In the city of hundres of coffee shops...In the city of hundres of coffee shops...

what do you call your coffee chain? Seattles best coffee of course!
it is really only our logic and emotions that separate us from the animal kingdom. What I find so fascinating is how for instance a lawyer from Germany and one from the States can have such different views on life when from a big picture point of view their lives are very similar: They both went to law school for very many years, they both work long hours, they both have families, they both live in a big city, drive nice cars etc yet have a conversation with them both about politics/religion/life/death/love etc and you will not be able to compare the two. It is those tiny little differences in beliefs and attitudes that make this world so interesting and why I love talking to people from other countries for hours and hours. A good example is two guys I met in Alaska. Both young boys, one had just returned from Iraq and the other one is a poet. Both loved life in Alaska yet for such different reasons. Both wanted to save the world but in very different ways. And so on. The same but different.

The most positive thing I have found as a traveler that is
Im glad there's a fenceIm glad there's a fenceIm glad there's a fence

Mr Grizzly close up on mt Grouse in Vancouver
universally true for all mankind is that inside every person is a great big heart and a natural instinct to help fellow human beings. Everyone has a minute to spare for a stranger in need and everybody seems to be curiously interested in other people. As a backpacker you are forced to talk to lots of people every day. Whether it is asking for directions, help or just striking up a friendly conversation on a bus, a plane or in a hostel, you meet countless of random strangers all the time. And believe it or not, I have never even once experienced a person who refused to help me or talk back to me. Quite the opposite, people seem to be going out of their way to help and people even strike up conversations with me when they see my backpack which has been quite surprising yet wonderful. Although there are too many examples to mention, the most amazing incident of "random acts of kindness" was in Juneau, Alaska where the hostel was fully booked for the night and I was desperately homeless. When I asked the guy working at the hostel if he knew of anywhere else I could stay he offered me his apartment as he was staying at the hostel anyway. How friendly is that? Total random stranger and he just handed me his key to his home to stay in for a couple of nights. How friendly is that? So, Shannon if you are reading this, rest assured there is always a place for you to stay when you make it to New Zealand! Cheers buddy.

So when people say that we live in a cold world where everyone just looks after number one, I can only say: Not true. If you really think so, I can only say get out there and meet people because there are so many amazing people out there waiting to meet you. There is so much goodness in the world which warms my little heart. And for someone who is used to being independent and not asking for help, it has at times been embarrassing how friendly people have been to me. I dont know about you, I too love the feeling of helping other people so it is indeed a win/win situation.

While I could go on and on about my love for traveling and in particular being a backpacker - carrying your home around like a turtle swimming through the ocean, I will leave it to Troels Kloevedal, a famous Danish travel writer to sum up the beauty of traveling. This quote is the quote that inspired me to travel 12 years ago when I first ventured out in the big wide world and I have carried it around in my wallet ever since. I hope it inspires you as much as it does me.

"If a young person at an early age realises that life is unique, amazing, gratifying and miraculous, that it is a precious gift and if he/she feels the intoxicating sensation of owning a destiny, that he/she has been chosen just by the mere fact of being able to breathe in an eternally youthful world, then life will open its velvet doors and let the sunshine cover him/her and make him/her feel beautiful and eternally grateful to be alive.

Above all, it’s about meeting new people. Every traveler knows that at every new encounter you renew yourself because meeting strangers mean that inexplicable processes in your heart happen that remind us that being a human being means that you cherish being free and hence accept that it is necessary to miss some people in order to give other people that same feeling of happiness".

Seattle
And after spilling my heart, I should perhaps mention that I did have a great time in Seattle. It was fantastic to get back to a big bustling city after my three weeks in the wilderness. Not only was it 20 degrees warm and beautiful sunshine but I loved being in a hostel with other people. Seattle is situated on the beautiful Pacific North West surrounded by little islands and lots of mountains. The highlight of my visit was Pike Place Market - a great market full of anything money can buy from fresh fish to crafts, crepes and of course lots of great coffee. Seattle is home of Starbucks and it was quite amazing to visit the first small Starbucks shop by the markets. Who would have thought one little coffee shop today is a global phenomenon and potentially has changed coffee culture worldwide or should I say created coffee culture. For all its criticism, I can only applaud the person who gave me a coffee haven on every street corner, a place for a traveler to rest in a comfy chair, read the paper and enjoy a shot of caffeine for an hour or two.

When you mention Seattle you of course also have to mention "Sleepless in Seattle" the famous Tom Hanks movie (the one where he had a really bad hair do). It’s funny but rarely have I watched a movie that sums up the atmosphere of a city so well. Seattle is a happening city but at the same time a romantic place with lots of beautiful viewpoints and walks along the water. If I ever had to live in the States, Seattle would be my choice (its only 2h from Canada! Bonus).

PS. I should also mention that two of the five days I was in Seattle I actually went back to Vancouver to visit some friends so some of the photos are from there...


Advertisement



2nd May 2006

An Ode to Shagging...
Well yes, that's all very well, but have you been getting any action?? He he!! I'm all booked for Europe, going to Greece (3 nights in Corfu) and Croatia (7 nights on a boat with some old school friends) and then will be back in London on the 15th July, with a spare week to do whatever, whomever! Closer to the time lets formulate a plan! Take care and keep the stories/thoughts rolling! xx
2nd May 2006

Happy Safe Travels!
Where are you off to next?! :) Have a wonderful trip! :) (Are you collecting lots of travel points???) :)
3rd May 2006

Sounds like you are having a great time! I love your travel blog, so I made one for us: http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/micahandjill/ We look forward to your next chapter! ~Micah and Jill

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb