Teach English Internationally


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
March 31st 2009
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

111

I grew up in a tropical environment such as this
I have a bachelor's degree or can get a TESOL certificate and I want to teach English internationally. What step-by-step processes will make this a reality? And (most importantly), where are the best places to work globally? This is what me, and so many other people want to know...

This blog is dedicated to people who desire to travel and want to teach English internationally; these people need the expert foreign experience of other people who have had recent teaching jobs in foreign countries. I would like to start a discussion about what job options people with bachelors degree's have and what options people who receive TESOL certificates have. I have started my own teaching research and I will report what I find through links to other articles, websites and social networking.

Let's start the conversation by throwing out any verifiable information people may have, I will start....(for example) if you are a US citizen, and you want to work in say, Korea, you should probably visit this site:

http://www.koreaembassyusa.org/

...and check out this blog from Jenni Jen:
http://www.travelblog.org/Asia/South-Korea/Seoul/blog-118713.html

Her information is wonderful, along with the information I have found through the Korean embassy website. For
222

I have seen interesting things such as this
instance, you will find out that you need to obtain a work visa to earn money as a language instructor. You're next question will undoubtedly be:

Q:what is required to obtain a work visa?

A: The General Requirements are in the visa section of the website for the embassy, if you read through them you will find some valuable information. There are various types of visas that you can apply for, such as short term employment, teaching foreign languages, and short term visitor.

So,
I want to hear from traveling teachers like Jenni and become informed. We should help other people and I would also appreciate the information. Please add your insight, please tell us about teaching English Internationally, your blog link would be great too. This can be a great grassroots effort to have the best, most up-to-date information possible. Please also share your story, I want to hear about the great places, the not so great places and everything travel... thanks everyone in advance!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb