First Post


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
March 2nd 2009
Published: March 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I've decided to write a blog about my upcoming summer voyage and to share it here with people. Partly, this is going to be fun for me just to put this down on 'paper' and partly, to keep some inquiring minds up to date.

The reason for my trip is, at it's core, to fulfill my study abroad requirement for my French major. For this, I'll be taking classes at the University of Paris or "The Sorbonne" for six weeks. The term starts July 6th and ends on August 14th. I'm really excited for this because the University is very renowned and has a really long history. It was commissioned in 1257 (Say what?). People like St. Ignatius, Marie Curie, the Pope, John Calvin and Victor Hugo went there. Pretty decent company. I think Dino Rossi went to Seattle U....

Even though the term starts July 6, I'm going to get there about ten days early to move in to an apartment, register and then travel a bit. Then, out of the six weekends I have, I'll leave for three and travel and then for about a month after the term is over, I'll travel around. So in total, I'm looking at twelve countries, maybe thirteen:

France:
-Paris
-Normandy
Austria:
-Vienna
-Salzburg
Germany:
-Munich
Czech Republic:
-Prague
Hungary:
-Budapest
Sweden:
-Stockholm
Switzerland:
-Geneva
Portugal:
-Lisbon
Spain:
-Granada
-Seville
England:
-London
Scotland:
-Edinburgh
Italy:
-Florence
Croatia:
-Zadar
-Stari Grad
-Trogir
-Sibenik
-Split
-Dubrovnik

I'm really pumped to do this. I'm most excited about Croatia. It's supposed to be absolutely gorgeous and plays host to some of the best Roman architecture, great beaches and forests. It's not under the Euro either, so it's going to be really cheap.

Okay. That's it for the inaugural post. I'll post all the time because I think about this all the time. Please comment and give opinions!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb