Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
July 1st 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
We left Solvang today heading up Pacific Coast Highway, the weather was perfect and the traffic light. Just before we got to Cambria we passed a sign that said the highway was closed but we were able to continue to we did. We passed 3 or 4 more signs that said the highway was closed and again we were not impeded so we continued. 50 miles beyond Cambria we came upon a highway patrol blockade and were told the highway was closed from this point on because of fires. We had to backtrack the 50 miles to Cambria then take a 26-mile cutover to 101.

Therefore we altered out travel plans and took 101 to 152 over to 5 and rode into Tracy from the south to bypass the commute traffic from the East Bay. There was a section of highway 5 that at each little bridge they had the pavement ground off on each side. We hit one of these that was really bad and bounced a good ways out of our seats, that one also popped open my left hard bag and I lost my spare riding boots and spare helmet. Oh well they were only extras no big loss. We made it to my brother's house safe and sound and that is what counts. My brother Claude, my sister-in-law Jody and my niece Sammy were happy to see us and made us really feel at home. God bless, Jack.



Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA jfc 016Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA jfc 016
Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA jfc 016

My Niece Sammy and my Sister-in-Law Jody
Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA jws 003Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA jws 003
Vacation day 21 Solvang, CA to Tracy, CA jws 003

my odo rollin over to 26,000 miles. I started the trip at a reading of 19,786.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb