Seattle - Home of Grunge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Seattles Green Tortoise hostel was in a great location right next to the Farmers Market where the locals sell all their fresh fish, fruit, vegtables and flowers. The city is unusual in that it is full of high rise buildings, and yet it is surrounded by snow capped mountains. I didn't do too much research before I arrived as I was only going to be there for half a day. Everyone I spoke to told me it was going to be cold in Seattle, however the weather couldn't be more perfect if it tried. The sun was out and there was a slight breeze in the air. I contented myself with wandering around the shops and market. I had planned to go to the Space Needle - Seattles version of the Torronto observation tower, however I ended up getting distracted. I came across a building, which was designed by the same guy who designed the Guggenheim in Bilbao. The building housed a rock and sci-fi museum. Inside they had film memorabilia such as original Star Trek phaser guns. The rock museum had a room dedicated to Jimmy Hendrix (aparently he lived in Seattle in the 50's and 60's) containing his guitars and extracts from his diaries....it was really cool.
I don't know what I imagined Seattle to be, but as it was the home to grunge (most famously Nivarna) I thought it would be full of baggy clothes wearing teenagers, and to some extent this is true.......but it does have a good vibe to the place, lots of open space, good fresh air and certainly a city to watch in the future.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb