I love Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 6th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

okay..time to catch up!

We stayed at a KOA in Tacoma, about 20 minutes outside of the city. We like it so much in Seattle that we decided to stay 2 nights. We went down to the Public Market....it is so cool there! They had beautiful flowers for sale, different types of flea market goods as well as produce stands and of course, the fish markets..... we were hungry, so we got these HUGE peaches, they were called, "Oh my god" peaches...after I took my first bite, I knew why. They were sooo juicy...it is the best peach I ever had...the only time I ate everything but the pit! I will say it was kind of gross though, eating a peach while the air reeked of fish! We decided to eat them out in the fresh air, so we wandered over to the first ever Starbucks across the street and got some iced chai....then we went in to a cheese store and got some homeade mac and cheese (yes, we ate A LOT that day!)... Later that evening we shared a dessert at a fancy cafe, then walked over to the Irish pub up the street for a late night beverage.

The next day we went back to the market and stood with about 20 other people watching the fish stand...they were clowns...incredibly obnoxious (it was great!)...we watched them throw some fish back and forth..I think more people were there for the show, than to buy fish!

From there we went over to the EMP...which is the Experience Music Project.. I can't describe it myself, so I cheated and cut and pasted the info from their website.....EMP is dedicated to the exploration of creativity and innovation in popular music. By blending interpretative, interactive exhibition with cutting-edge technology, EMP captures and reflects the essence of rock ‘n’ roll, its roots in jazz, soul, gospel, country and the blues, as well as rock’s influence on hip-hop, punk and other recent genres. Visitors can view rare artifacts and memorabilia and experience the creative process by listening to musicians tell their own stories.

They had just switched over to the Fall hours, so we got there 10 minutes b/f it was closing. We were a little disappointed, but we got to wander around inside for just a bit. From there we walked over by the space needle. We sat on the lawn outside for a while and just people watched...

We ate at a fantastic Irish restaurant for dinner...I ate corned beef in cabbage stuffed in a potato pancake...it was delicious!

Seattle is definitely a place I could see myself living. I loved everything about it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Another shot of the marketAnother shot of the market
Another shot of the market

I keep playing around with color and black and white...not sure which I like best


29th September 2007

Yay Seattle!
I'm glad you loved my hometown, it is great huh? I am jealous you were there and I wasn't!

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb