Pacific Northwest: Part IV


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
August 12th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 6 - Port Angeles/Seattle
On the way back to Seattle we were going to stop at a lavender farm (we didn't) and the Olympic Game Farm (we did!) So we're out in the middle of Sequim and we drive up to this GHETTO farm. It was insane. They had yak, bison, buffalo, llamas, peacocks, rhinos, BEARS, deer, elk, lynx, coyotes, LIONS, and a BENGAL TIGER! we bought a loaf of bread to throw out the window, because you couldn't get out of the car, and these animals would like block your car and put their faces right up next to yours. Scared us half to death but then you look at the car behind you and they've got the whole animal's head IN THE CAR. It was a hoot. Especially the llamas. They sauntered. God, those things creep me out. and Mom made them talk to me which was so bizarre. We almost peed ourselves laughing so damn hard.
But then of course karma had to kick in and in five minutes I was on the verge of tears. We drove up to where the bears were. They were pinned in by only a small electric fence (like the kind
Pike Place Fish MarketPike Place Fish MarketPike Place Fish Market

fish guy friend and me
you would use to keep deer out of a vegetable garden - remember this place is GHETTO.) and a rickety old chickenwire fence. They had to have been drugged. No way grizzly bears can get that close to humans and not flip out. Poor things. They looked so miserable. And I can see why - people poking there ugly faces at them all day, eating nothing but oranges and wheat bread, living in a goddamn backyard. But they actually were living the life compared to the caged wildcats and coyotes. Cages were about the size of a 1 car garage. The wolves and tiger were pacing all around it longing to get out and run free. The lion was just sleeping in a little gully. It was horrible. ugh. Just awful. I hate animals in captivity. I was glad to leave that place, but I couldn't really get it out of my head. Still can't. :[

But we pressed and got on the ferry to Seattle.
The only thing I really wanted to do was get a picture with the fish guys.
So I go back, and the bleach blonde remembered me from a few days ago! I asked
seattleseattleseattle

final night in Seattle
for a picture and he led me to the front of the crowd and held up this fish and posed while another fishmonger took the picture. Then about 10 little kids and their parents were like "US TOO! US TOO!" and so he had to take all these pictures with annoying tourists. I mouthed "I'm sorry!" and he was like "LOOK AT WHAT YOU DID!" ... jokingly of course. Then I bid him goodbye and went off to buy a Seattle mug. Got my mug and went back to the car. Then Mom, Sarah, and I went back to dinner, turned in our trusty rental Highlander, and checked into our hotel for bed.

Day 7 Seattle/Oakland/Nashville.
Woke up super early to get to the airport. The Southwest line was loooooong. As was security. After we finally got through we speed-walked through the terminal and missed our boarding group, but got on just in the nick of time. Shew.
Something about the flight to Oakland made me uneasy. Probably cause we were at the very back of the plane. But we made it there alive and changed over to the Nashville flight.
That flight took forever too, but it at least had cool scenery out the window.. how it went from Rocky Mountains to Area 51 like circles to flatflatflat plains to my lush Tennessee trees.
It's good to be back home, but I'm really itching to go back.

Seattle and the surrounding areas were very good to me. It's really a beautiful place. It's all about a higher and better way of living. Love it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Olympic Game FarmOlympic Game Farm
Olympic Game Farm

llama attack
Olympic Game FarmOlympic Game Farm
Olympic Game Farm

grinning bear!
Olympic Game FarmOlympic Game Farm
Olympic Game Farm

expecto patronum?
Pike Place Fish MarketPike Place Fish Market
Pike Place Fish Market

better lighting..
Pike Place Fish MarketPike Place Fish Market
Pike Place Fish Market

cool Pike Place fishmonger photographer.. haha he felt left out and took one of himself


Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb