Preparation for our trip to Israel


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The pathThe pathThe path

I did this pastel this week, not bad for a first try
This all starts here in Port Angeles, WA.

It's beginning to warm up a little, I have the windows open to let the cool air flow through. I don't do well with warm weather, imagine how it will be in July in Israel!!

I have just over a month to prepare for this trip, my goal of riding my stationary bike twice a day until I leave has found me still making excuses nearly one month after making that commitment.

I will start tomorrow.....really.....

So, my walking stick came today, it's telescopic and should help me with walking on uneven ground.
The shoes I ordered won't work at all, too narrow, so I will return them and look elsewhere for something for my feet.
Shoes are a big issue with me now that I have this big orthotic boot that I have to wear all the time.

My diabetic instructor, Bob suggested crocs, unbeknownsed (sp?) to me they carry a diabetic shoe.
I also recently started on insulin injections, not as bad as I had imagined. Why I waited so long...well....
(Thanks to Bob for telling me about this blog site, btw!)

I finally got
Dusty relaxing on my lawnDusty relaxing on my lawnDusty relaxing on my lawn

I found Dusty, my 26 yr old arabian. taking a rest on the lawn below the hill where Jim and I were married last Sept. I think this should become a painting!
a creative bug and edited our wedding video into a short movie to share with everyone. Some of you have recieved a link in emails, if not go to www.splashsigns.com/WEDDING.HTML enjoy!

I've been going to an artist friend's studio to learn pastel from her, I had never tried this medium before and had a lot of fun creating my first piece. I just named it 'The path' you'll find it on here somewhere.
It's a fun meduim, gets your hands really messy, and the pigments can be toxic. Nothing like a little danger to make things interesting!

I took a picture of my older gelding Dusty last week. He was taking a rest in the grass at the foot of the hill where Jim and I were married last fall. One of the azaleas was about to bloom and I think it might make a nice pastel study don't you?

Since I cannot work like I used to on my feet all day painting signs and windows, I'm going to try to get back into studio work.
There are quite a few galleries in our area, and some people are even selling thier work on ebay nowadays.

This isn't very exciting news, just practicing to get used to this place.
Thanks for listening!
Adrienne😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb