Into the Wild~A walk across America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
February 6th 2013
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Into the Wild~ 02/05/13Day One:This crazy idea to walk across the country is another choice I've made in my life that will certainly bring me more colorful experiences. My destination is New Jersey. Because I've never been there, and, well, why not?Recently I had planned to leave out of th Las Vegas area, as the climate is certainly more salubrious, much less conducive to hiking weather. Alas, either heading southeast or northeast out of Vegas, the towns are very spread apart, requiring me to carry at least twn days worth of food. As I've chosen to forgo the weight and space of a stove, I am relying on a dried food diet. Ergo, the thought of packing that much food at a time seemed unwise. As such, I decided to leave out of Portland, following the Columbia River until it heads north into southeastern Washington and Idaho. Once I make it to Idaho, I'll decide the route east from there, depending on the weather and highway variables. I left mid-afternoon today, and a follow a nicely gravelled dyke along the river. The rain began to pick up in earnest, and I ducked into a large barn that held a bunch of hay. After about 45 minutes, the owner and his son showed up to load up some hay. I felt bad about trespassing, even it was only to get out of the rain for a spell. He said I could stay if I promised there'd be no monkey business, and there wouldn't be, of course. But I felt uncomfortable and set back out. After less than a mile, I needed to get out of the rain, I was pretty wet. By the time I got camp set up, I was soaked. My jacket and pants and one of my hats are drenched. Not a real auspicious beginning, but it is winter in the Pacific Northwest......have about a 12 mile walk tomorrow to some small town called Prindle. The plaintive cries of Canadien Snow Geese fill the air with a lugubrious caterwaul~Day Two:After a long, wet, and cold first night, I hiked back into town (Washougal) and took a bus back into Vancouver. This evening there a county transit bus that will take me east to Stevenson, 26+ miles east of here. I needed water and food, and neither in sufficient supply to make it to Stevenson, so this was a fortuitous opportunity.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb