Travel Prep Update


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
February 14th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Singles Awareness Day!! (for the single peeps)
Happy Valentine's Day! (for everyone else)

Only 51 days left (including weekends) until departure!!!! I'm feeling mounting excitement and mounting terror at the prospect of having to leave. Part of this is due to the fact that my roommate just decided to move out, forcing me to have to deal with the new situation of getting new roomies. This is not a good time for this additional stress but I think it will all work out in the end. I have someone who can definitely room in my apartment while I am gone, but it will be a matter of moving right after I get back. It might be more stressful on the way back!

Finally applied for my passport and paid dearly for my procrastination. But at least it'll be here in another week or so and then I can check off another item on my list. Most of my travel supply shopping is done though I will need to pack some nice office wear and still need a chain/lock for my bag. I am also waiting to hear more about my apartment situation as they are still looking for one for me to stay in. The big question is whether they will want me to wire the money upfront though my volunteer coordinator says she will work on getting me a deal where I can see the apartment FIRST. Less left to chance that way.

I am hoping that though I will be volunteering that I will be able to find time to get out into the countryside and ride horses and camels. I am really interested in engaging in those kinds of traditional activities. I also discovered that there is a sustainable "farm" in Ulaanbaatar, which I would really like to visit during my stay. I am very excited that my boyfriend's cousin is currently living in UB, teaching English. We have been corresponding through e-mail and it will be nice to at least have one American that I know there.

Otherwise I am just trying to keep my head above water and keep up with my school work. I feel I may have taken on way too much this quarter but live and learn!

Wishing you all well,
Lindsay



Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb