Plane Tickets


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I just bought my plane ticket by Air China for $1,300 roundtrip. I bought it through an airfare consolidator but I still have a hesitant feeling, though it could be because I've never spent that much money on a plane ticket!! I still need to buy a ticket to LAX for the actual flight but Southwest is having their special $49/way special though I'l have to see whether its good for the time frame I'm looking at. And I'm still waitng for my scholarship funds to pay for that ticket.

But life goes on and I still have school work to finish before I get to Mongolia so I'm trying to stay in the moment as much as possible while still plan for the future.

Advertisement



22nd January 2008

Tips on Consolidator Fares... $1,300?
Some snippets from some quick research I did: 1) "Consolidator fares are the only way to go for international tickets. Remember to deal only with a consolidator that takes credit cards. Also after you get a ticket (electonic or paper) call the airline and confirm your seats. If there is a problem call your credit card company to cancel. Also keep in mind some consolidator fares do not earn frequent flyer miles. Ask in advance (if the miles are important for you). For example, Singapore airlines has two types of fares, one that earn FF miles and one that does not." 2) "I have traveled RT to China 15 times, agent who has very good connections with United will allow you to avoid the hassle of stopping at Narita. NorthWest has a new service direct to Guangzhou but I have never seen a decent price on those tickets. If you need to fly into China, do not fly from Hong Kong. Cross the border from Hong Kong to Shenzhen(bus) ,or Guangzhou (train), and fly from there. The prices are 1/3 of those from HKG. ***Buy your Chinese domestic tickets in China.*** Everything is a walk up price. No advance purchase required. You can't buy at the same low rates in the US. Ask right upfront for a discount on air tickets in China, whether from a travel agent or the airline. You can always get 20% off, sometimes up to 40%. You can not buy a ticket in the US for flights that do not originate in the US. Talk that one over with the airline and your travel agent." 3) Bestfares.com shows fares as low as $586... why don't you email me your destination cities, dates, and how flexible you are about them? I'll do it for fun even if your ticket is not refundable. It's not that big of a deal since it's scholarship monies covering it. :)
7th February 2008

hey!
Wow okay thats a lot of good information. Now I'm kicking myself for not asking you before I bought the ticket! I will call the airport to make sure my ticket is there and I have my electronic information printed and ready to go. I will actually be flying to Beijing and then non-stop to Ulaanbaatar. So only one stop though on the way back its a 6 hour layover!! Oy :-)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb