Time and Temp


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Ocean Park
September 19th 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

PathPathPath

And now our beach picture! Looking down the path from our camp
Let’s talk about Time and Temperature:

We’re Pacific Daylight Time. We’ve all seen that on the TV listings, and it didn’t mean anything, but let me clarify it for you: Our news comes on at 11:00 PM. If anyone wanted to watch Leno or Letterman would have to wait until 11:30~~who cares that much???? When you come from Sidney, where a lot of your programming is out of North Dakota, and therefore an hour earlier than usual, this TV schedule is startling!

Temperature: our weather comes from Alaska. In Montana our Canadian cold fronts are a big concern. Here we hear about storms in the Alaska Bay that are headed our way! And the humidity is a whole different thing. Today I left my paintbrush uncovered while we had coffee (of course we have coffee….we work three hours!) When I saw it I knew it would be dried out, and I’d have a chore cleaning it. Nope, it was as wet as when I left it. And you don’t need to rush to cover the sandwich…no hurry at all! Words you won’t hear on a Montana weather report: marine layer~~clouds that usually burn off about noon; sun breaks~~times the
KitesKitesKites

I haven't had the camera when we've seen kites, but I will work on that, because they're delightful. I got a kick out of this guy, because he got his kites in the air (notice how they're all on one line!) and then tied the line to the signpost, and just leaned and watched the kites! And Bea and I sat on a log and watched!
sun peaks through the clouds. In Montana, it would be partly cloudy!

It hasn’t been rainy here, even though the pictures look like it is. But it has been cloudy almost every day. When we’re indoors, it looks like it must be cold outside, but then you go outside, and it’s warm. But the clouds are beginning to get to me….sunshine would be nice. Of course all the locals say this is unusual weather for September…."Usually August and September are perfect months." Yeah, right…….Like we all haven’t used the line “The wind isn’t usually like this in Sidney….” But it is warm.

Speaking of that, I miss the colored leaves in Sidney, and more than that, I miss the smell of the sugar beet factory. Autumn memories…….



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sand toysSand toys
Sand toys

This one is for my grandson, Daniel....it's the ultimate sandbox. They are plowing sand from the path down to the beach, and they're removing the sand by truck. We stopped and talked to the driver of the plow, and he said they're using the sand as backfill in new construction.
BerriesBerries
Berries

Berries grow wild here, and this is just a sample of how big they are. Ok, you can't really tell how big they are, but trust me on this one. I'd never eaten blackberries right off the bush before, and they are delicious! There are raspberries around too.


21st September 2007

Great Pictures!
Wow! I love your pictures and captions. As I said before, they bring back so many memories. I used to love going for walks with my Grandma because you could eat berries during the whole walk. They grew everywhere. Although I remember eating more Marion (sp?) berries than black berries. And you're right. Their flavor is fantastic.
21st September 2007

Berries
I hear about Marion Berries, but haven't seen any. People around here are careful about eating berries they don't know, so I'm being careful too!
21st September 2007

Berries
In Canada I was introduced to Saskatoons. They were small, but very sweet. We saw some at a farmers market that were bigger, and quite spendy, but worth it. The only berries I really know are chokecherries, and you sure don't pick and eat those more than once. They're called CHOKEcherries for a reason! They make a great syrup or jelly though.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb