Planning? Or my!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
January 17th 2015
Published: January 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Amazing the amount of time dedicated to "Just Planning".



What does planning have to do with travel? Well in my life, everything. Ya ken (southern Scottish), some people can select a destination, book a flight, get a hotel lined up, and just go. For me, I can only wish it were that simple. As much as I want to be one of those organized persons, I shamefully admit to being a "disorganized organized" person. Compound this with advanced age, ADD, and a personality type who HAS TO KNOW THE TINIEST DETAIL OF MY TRIP, you have organized confusion at best.

Trip notes began on small note pads, escalated to large assorted tablets, pages with no discernible subjects, just random information being inked across blank paper, all added to an ever growing pile. To this pile I added mounds of printed info from websites and accumulation of flight and hotel reservations. Sigh, I must corral all of this information, but how? The answer for me, who never used a day planner, was a plastic folder and tabbed dividers (all used, why spend new money) to attempt to organize - hum, by subject? Maybe. So far, part way there. I have the folder and dividers, which still have their original subjects on them. Note to self: really, you are still thinking what to name the divider!!

For part of the itinerary, the equine company provided the 5-day ride/3-day sightseeing outline, of sorts. Such as - Day 1, we'll pick you up by the library parking lot; Day 2 the ride will go to this point and that point. Wait! Where's the map? I have to know the trails intimately before I arrive. What if I get lost? What if the horse dumps me? We know book stores have closed. Amazon.com, that's the answer! Ah, the first map (oh yeah, like I'd order only ONE) arrived (THANK YOU Prime). Taking the Outlander 2 itinerary, I highlighted (yep, highlighted a colored map-not easy to do) with those sites mentioned (well, that I could find). So I now have some idea of where and when "I'll be".

But I have pre- and post-ride days also. Those must be planned and placed on an itinerary. And travel sites suggest you leave behind full travel information, along with copies of passport, credit cards, and drivers license for family, neighbors, boarding kennels, and emergency Vets. Well, good luck finding me during that 8 day ride! Hey all you cell phone/internet addicts, there are still locations in the world without cellphone reception. Which is most of my ride (well ok, all of the ride). So that thick packet under the map, well that's my itinerary SO FAR. Suggestion to traveler: triple space and leave lots of white space as you'll be forever inking in things you still need to do!

And in-between all this random-organization, I have to remind myself I have a life. Walk the dog, take care of and occasionally ride the horse, eat. Oh, the sad life of a single retiree eh? Yikes, time to get to the barn. More to come.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb