Preparation for the Hike


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm getting very excited about my trip. It's been three years since I last completed a section of the Appalachian Trail. This time I'll be going out at my lightest body weight I've ever had for backpacking and expect to do strong miles! My pack is repaired. My boots are broken in. My sleeping bag will be in any day now (so they tell me).

You may want to know about why "Second Chance." When I first started a thru-hike in 1998, I lasted a whole 3 days/20 miles before succumbing to bronchitis, tendonitis and ignorance. I attended to all three problems and in the interim, hiking friends gave me the trail name of Second Chance and I headed out on the trail where I'd left off 4 weeks after my first start. That trip I completed 433 miles and decided to complete the rest in sections.

There are some completed sections in PA, CT, MA, VT and VA in addition to having continuous miles between Springer Mountain in GA to just north of Atkins, VA. This trip will pick up where I left off in Virginia. I will miss hiking with aprilmoon as she is just the best ever backpacking companion. Hopefully she'll be able to join me the last couple of days.

Advertisement



8th August 2006

Go For It! And enjoy!
Have a wonderful trip, Shari! I can't wait to follow along with your adventure. I leave in the morning for Hawaii and will follow from there and when I return home. I'm sending much love your way!
8th August 2006

hiking with Second Chance
You go, girl! I'm excited for you and excited to be hiking with you in September. Can't wait to follow your journey north through your blog.
8th August 2006

You Go Girl!
You will have no problems this time and attain your dream by completing even more miles this time! I have faith in you! Keep us posted! Our prayers and love go with you!
8th August 2006

Have fun
Shari, I hope this trip goes well and that you enjoy it. I gave two through hikers from Alaska a ride to a local motel a few weeks ago and thought of you. If you are beginning in Virginia, does this mean you will not be coming through my area? I was really hoping to see you! Enjoy! Much love, Brenda
8th August 2006

Good Luck
Go for it, Kiddo and have a ball!
9th August 2006

You go Girl!
Sis, I am so happy that you are able to do this again. To say I am proud of you is an understatement. Good luck on your adventure and I can't wait to read all of the stories; and, see photos! Love you, your little sis from Orlando
9th August 2006

Staying in touch with you all
Friends of "Second Chance"... I will do my best to keep this blog updated as I hear from Shari on her adventure. She'll probably get to a town...and a phone...about once a week. But please feel free to either make comments here on the blog (she'll read them all) and/or call me. But you can be sure the blog will be totally up to date with all the information I have. Please join me in wishing her a safe and rewarding journey...and that we all might be brave enough to "follow our dreams".
9th August 2006

One Day At A Time Motivation for SparkPeople
Shari, I finally logged in! Good luck on your hiking adventure. I will be checking in often to see your progress. I am so excited for you! Enjoy! Janice
10th August 2006

bUSTIN OUT WITH PRIDE
You look marvelous,. hot chocolate is made and it is DARK. Pretty good too. Five packs and more will be waiting for you. As I said earlier today, you are one gutsy woman and I am so proud of you. You go for it, be careful at the end of your hike. LOl. love to her from both of us. Love you, Mom
12th August 2006

good for you Shari
Shari dear friend, I am so proud of you that dispite prior problem I remember the broken shoulder..... youre on the trail again. Please take care and I will be logging in to see you go. ooxxxoo Carol
12th August 2006

Go for it Shari!
We are so proud of you! You are AWESOME! Have a great hike and come see us when you get back! We miss you guys! God Speed!
12th August 2006

Extra Money
Shari, Hope you took extra money for the new clothes you'll need to buy when you've completed the hike. I know all the girls here will be wanting to know "what size" and girly stuff like that. Popeye just wants you to eat some spinach so you stay strong, and for snacks 4 prunes (not for the reason that just popped into your mind, 4 prunes pack more antioxidants then any other fruit, plus they're relatively light and very portable. Virtual ((Hugs)) and real Prayers. GO SHARI!!!WHOORAHH!
17th August 2006

best wishes and lots of love
Shari, how COOL is this! I'm so grateful to be able to follow you through your journey on your very own site and everything! I also feel blessed to be your friend and support you in all and any endeavour that comes your way! You are a dear friend and I love you! And I will miss you like crazy! Have a great time! love laura and tristan
29th August 2006

Missing you already
I am so excited for you and wish I too could be shaving my head this afternoon in preperation for the greatest journey ever! I will miss you, and know that good thoughts and prayers are with you every step of this journey. Be safe and most importantly HAVE FUN!
31st August 2006

You're amazing
I just wanted to say that you're an inspiration to us all. Good luck and have the time of your life!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb