Some bad luck on the trail


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Roanoke
September 4th 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friends of Shari,

I just spoke to our intrepid hiker today...from some little town in Virginia. Her beginning days went well, even though hurricane Ernesto was still dumping buckets. She averaged between 10 and 14 miles per day during the horrid weather. That is amazing! The weather has finally cleared up for her...but a new problem has come up. She apparently injured a bursa sac in her knee. She managed to get off the trail and into a small town. After a day or so of ice and rest she'll make a decision whether to see a doctor or to get back on the trail. I know how bummed she'll be if she only does those 40 miles or so. I'll keep you all posted on her progress but in the meantime please join me in wishing her the best...whichever way this thing goes!

Husband Mike

Advertisement



4th September 2006

Oh My God!
Shari, it never occured to me that you were battling the hurricane, but of course that would be the case. Wow! I'm sorry about the weather and your knee, but given your spirit and commitment, I know you will make the best choices all the way around. During your recoup time, feel free to call if you want some words of support, someone to listen, some inspiration or whatever you need. In the meantime, I'm sending much good joo joo and love your way. Hugs and kisses. J.
5th September 2006

Healing Thoughts
Don't know what a bursa sac is but it sounds like it is not a fun thing to injure. I am sending you loving, healing thoughts. Deenie
5th September 2006

Hang in there!
Thanks Mike for keeping us informed. When you talk to Shari, tell her, her friends at One Day at a Time Motivation are rooting for her and for her to hang tough and do this hike one step, one mile, and one day at a time. Hopefully, her injury is a minor one that can be overcome with some rest. I will be checking back for an update. Janice
5th September 2006

SAD
Sorry At Difficulty with bursa sac, I have questions but they will wait. Mike, Please email me or call my cell phone. Praying for healing of that sac. Tell Shari to hang tough. Everyone will be sending healing thoughts and good wishes. Love, MAH
5th September 2006

Every step
Every step is significant! The fact that you took one makes you my hero. Sheri you are braver then any woman I have ever known. If it is time to stop your journey, than so be it. I wish you the best in what ever you decide. Take care my friend.
5th September 2006

One Day At A Time
Healing prayers are being sent your way. Thinking of you through this trial. Blessings, Nashia
5th September 2006

Take Care
Shari, I am sorry to hear of your injury, but am confident you know how to take care, and that you will make the right choice to continue or not. Remember the physician credo, "Do No Harm" I will be saying an extra prayer for your decision and hope the knee gets better soon. Love, Carolee

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb