Roanoke


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Roanoke
October 16th 2012
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well what can I say about Roanoke, errrrmmmmmm!!!!!! Not a lot really, the journey here was lovely about two and a half hours from Charlottesville, the trees are lovely at the moment,vibrant yellows, oranges, greens and deep reds. We passed by well manicured lawns with ornamental ponds, with a backdrop of rolling hills covered in autumn colours and behind that the blue ridge mountains. Paddocks with either horses or cows, neither of which I fancied riding thank you Mrs Player? ha ha can you see me on a horse!!! Wouldn't know which shoes to wear for that!!! People seem to use their front porches quite a lot here maybe we should adopt them in the UK then perhaps neighbours would actually speak to each other.

The one good thing that they had in Roanoke at the art museum was an exhibition of handbags by Judith Leiber, apparently she makes handbags for the first ladies. There were all sorts of shapes some like horses,roses, eggs all covered in tiny crystals. bet they cost a bomb.

The one thing I can't get used to is the toilets that flush by themselves, it makes me jump every time!! Weird!! Slipways change to ramps, wrong way means no entry, toilets become rest rooms, shopping centres - malls and I thought we spoke the same language???? The one thing that is the same is chocolate brownies, yum yum.

Just to let you know there may not be any pics for a while as my lovely camera is faulty, I took it in to a shop in Washington and its a problem with the lens, he kindly offered to send it away for me but added it would take eight weeks!!!! Then he tried a new lens which worked fine so we know it's a problem with the lens rather than the body of the camera. New lens approx £450!! So I think I may have to buy something cheaper to use til I get back. Itseemed to be intermittent initially but the lens now seemed to have jammed.

Advertisement



17th October 2012

I've always fancied sitting on a front porch in my rocking chair drinking cloudy lemonade!!!! Don't they call them stoops? We watched a comedian last night comparing American and English language, very funny. Hi Pam try a non generic lens for the camera like a tamarin or something like that they fit but are much cheaper and work just as we'll love you Martin . Anyway as I was saying before I was interrupted!! They call pavements sidewalks so they know to walk on the side of the road incase they wander in to the middle!!! Don't know how we've survived all these years!!!!xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb