Home, Sweet, Home.... A Bittersweet Feeling


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Norfolk
August 22nd 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, we’re docked! And I can’t believe the end is already here. We woke up briiiight and early this morning (about 6am) to Claudia, Dean Sean’s mom, singing “Good Morning” over the PA system. It was a great final touch to our last wake-up call (although unusually early). My friends and I had our last breakfast outside as we watched the sunrise and pulled into the channel leading into Norfolk. Seeing land for the first time in 9 days was warming, especially it being our home country, which we haven’t seen in 10 weeks. We all went up to the front of the ship on the top deck to see the Explorer pulling in. During this hour long process, an entire school of dolphin came out to greet us! Gosh, what a treat! They were everywhere. I also talked to my mom who, with hundreds of other parents, were waiting at a park with waves and signs to see us in. The ship honked a bunch of times and everyone was cheering to be home... It’s all so surreal. The tears started, unfortunately, and I’m sure there are more to come. Saying goodbye to the trip/ship of a lifetime is not something any of us are looking forward too. I’m lucky enough to have my mom waiting for me, which sweetens up the whole situation a bit. Right now, we’re waiting for customs to clear, and to begin being called, by sea (go Baltic!) off the ship. It’s about 9am and don’t anticipate getting off until about 11. We’re called by sea, like I said. The first ones off the ship is the Yellow Sea, winners of the Sea Olympics. Next is family, life long learners, staff, etc. And the rest of the seas are getting off at random. My sea will be getting off 4th out of 11, pretty lucky. We’re all going to be scrambling to get to the airport on time. I’m so lucky to have my mom here and not be doing it alone!

Last night was our last preport meeting, and a very special one at that. We got a fake green sheet with a bunch of junk on it informing us about the US, a satire to the prior greet sheets pertaining all important info for the other countries There was a treasure map on the back included, just one example of the light hearted atmosphere in the Union. The admin said their goodbyes and thank yous. The “Real SASers of Genius” duo came up and did a couple of more acts (I don’t think I’ve talked about this yet... see a couple of paragraphs ahead: Talent Show). Another group wrote the “Goodbye Voyager Blues” (also an act from the talent show). The photographer and videographer of the ship premiered their Summer 2009 Voyage pieces. We get them mailed to us in a couple of months. Living & Learning coordinator, Jenny, came up to announce the totals for the Shipboard Drive Auctions that happened on the way to Morocco. This voyage hit RECORD totals! We raised about $35,000, more than any other voyage in the history of SAS. The Institute for Shipboard Education (ISE) back in Virginia caught word. They gave us the opportunity to plaque not one, but 2 of the bedrooms on the ship! This apparently has been a goal on every voyage which is met only if every member of the community donates at least one dollar to the Shipboard Drive. We are the first voyage to ever name a room in our honor. We voted and the first plaque will ironically read “Habibi”! First in English and then in Arabic! (Habibi is the Arabic word for “good friends and loved ones” that started spreading in Egypt. We use it often on the ship. I have also used it many times blogging). The second plaque is titled “Real SASers of Genius” after the duo who gained much fame from the talent show. The whole preport meeting was the perfect sentimental wrap up to our voyage. I’m going to miss this intense sense of community here... The atmosphere here is rare and will more than likely not be repeated ever again in my life. Think about the 5 most well rounded, outgoing, fun, humble and rational people in your life. Now multiply that by... a lot..., stick em on a ship, show them the world, and this is what ya got.

We’ve spent our last couple of days on the ship just enjoying one another’s company and getting the “lasts” in. We’ve shared plenty more laughs and have taken even more pictures/videos. The Talent Show was a couple of nights ago. Sheesh, I can’t get enough of the talented people on the ship.... Lots of dances of all genres, and lots of original works, mostly pertaining to our time on the ship. The “Real SASers of Genius” are a couple of guy students who came up every once in a while and sang songs that magnified the roles/characteristics of the famous people on the ship that everyone knows like the “exceedingly good looking and unusually charming IT guy.” Gosh I wish I could explain these better because they were absolutely hilarious. And rightfully so having a plaque named after their songs. Another girl, Amanda, just absolutely brought down the house with her soulful, blues voice. They were the other act that wrote the “Goodbye Voyager Blues” for the final preport meeting. Anthony sang! He did a beautiful piece by Josh Groban. And Nicole Belly Danced!! I don’t know if I’ve said much about this either, but Nicole, a good friend on the ship, has been giving Belly Dance lessons this whole voyage. She finally showed off and of course killed it! Shannon, my roommate also danced with a group... I have such talented friends 😊

Most everyone, myself included, have been soaking up every minute of sun possible... I tried to treat the stretch home as much of a cruise as possible ha ha. (Of course, not including classes, which by the way, finals went well!) And I think we all succeeded in doing this!

I’m not sure I have words yet in reflection about the amazing experiences that have taken over the last 10 weeks of my life. The excitement of getting off the ship and finally seeing friends and family, and starting school is a bit distracting. I don’t think everything will settle in for another week, so expect another blog in the future! I really want to make sure I get all of my thoughts down on paper, and of course, share it with all of you, I just can’t fabricate them now... but I know there ‘a comin!

(I’m sorry this is so choppy and short, I’m typing in a hurry because we are getting off soon!)

Catch ya later, Habibi!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.387s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb