Vermont


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
August 14th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I left off in Hannover and just getting to Phi Tau. I wound up playing beer pong at Tabord. But up at Dartmouth they use paddles to play pong and I have to say, it was a lot of fun. When I got up at 7 the next morning it was pouring outside. By the time I finished riding buses to EMS in the next town over, it was to late and to poor of weather to continue on. So I zeroed in Hannover and went back to Tabord for a lingerie party the second night! Unfortunately there were no pictures allowed so I can't prove it, or share it with any of you, but it was a great time. (Thanks Danielle!)

My next big stop was Rutland Vermont. I loved it there. I had been hearing from all the North Bounders for a long way off that Back Home Again is the place to stay. It's run by the 12 Tribes (a religious group) and they allow you to work for stay. I slack packed from there over Killington and back. It hailed on me at the top of Killington. I started to catch a cold too. I decided to take another zero in Rutland to help fight the cold and stay out of the rain, so all together I spent 3 nights in Rutland. I was tempted to stay longer, but Springer Mountain in Georgia keeps calling my name!

I'm in Manchester right now, but it will be a short visit and in fact my ride back to the trail is leaving in a few minutes.

The rain has been relentless and I'm not to sure I'll even know what to do if it were to ever stop. So please send me some sunshine and maybe I won't have to stop all the time.


Love you all,

Tommy J. (aka Slow-Mo)


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

GashGash
Gash

This was a lookout platform that was built onto the roof of a cabin
trail arttrail art
trail art

There must have been a lot of hikers with a lot of time on their hands
rock artrock art
rock art

Dank trying to get out of the picture
Slug!Slug!
Slug!

This guy was dangling from a slime line about 3 feet long


14th August 2008

That slug is gross!!! miss you, hope your having fun! Do you need anything? Channy
14th August 2008

Damn!
You hairy man, that beard is getting out of control! I love it.
20th August 2008

Thanks for keeping us updated on your journey. The wildflowers are awesome.
28th August 2008

We found you!
Hey Tom - talked with your mom today and heard about your meeting. She said you were pumped! We loved looking at your pictures and reading about your trip. Look forward to more stuff. Shannon goes back to middle school next week - aren't you glad you're hiking instead? Jenna says "hi, love you, and how are you doing?" Joel says hi and Shannon says "hey - love the pics, i think the pictures would make a great calendar". Take care and keep on trekkin'!! Molly
30th August 2008

From Granny
Hey, hey Tommy J - I talked to Granny tonight and she was bummed about not being able to write to you - so I told her to tell me something and i would send it along. She says to remember that you are her only grandson and to have a fun, SAFE time. She also sends her love. Molly
2nd September 2008

i sat here for like 10 minutes trying to write something witty and supportive that would make you smile...i failed completely but this should tell you 2 things: 1) i need to get out and get a life 2) there aren't enough words out there to tell you how wonderful you are go walk!
3rd September 2008

hay
just checking in heard you were having fun with free showers lol got some free time b4 going to work so we write love the pics enjoy 7 bsafe where r u now and how long b4 duncannon ?

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb