White River Junction


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
January 6th 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Boston to White River Junction


Tuckerman RavineTuckerman RavineTuckerman Ravine

This will have to do for our summit. We were just a few steps from the peak of Mount Washington, but decided we did not have to summit to prove our manliness!
Got up and moving around 7. I was anxious to get out of Boston because I was always lossed and the Hostel was a little tough. On the road by 8. Again after getting lossed a couple times and a question asking session I was on the interstate finally. Arrived at White River Junction around 11:30. Had some lunch with Emily and Jason. Emily is a very good cook. The barbecued pork and cheese dip was great. I showered and laid down for a few minutes. It was nice not having to worry about which exit to take and if my stuff was safe. I had forgotten how nice Emily and Jason are. Jason and I drove around for awhile and did a short hike. Very pretty as there was a little fog, snow, ice and water. Vermont/ New Hampshire is very pretty.

1-7-07
Emily got up and fixed breakfast and Jason and I got up to eat it 😊 ! Again Emily’s cooking abilities showed through and we had a great breakfast. Jason and I left the house around 9:30 and headed for Mount Washington. We stopped along the way for some photos and stopped to see Santa at
Moose Quest 2007Moose Quest 2007Moose Quest 2007

Jason scanning the horizon for a moose!
a campground area where there are Santa Clause themed amusement rides and tours. We made it to Mount Washington around 1. We saw these vans with snow cat tread which was really cool. The only problem was there was no snow. We went to the main visitor center and they suggested a trail and we hiked it. It was about a 4 mile trail and it was well suited for a our skill level and training ability. At the top of the trail we met a guy who actually lives in a cabin at the top of the trail. I suspect he may go to bed early as about 4:30 it gets dark there and I suspect he has no tv. Jason had a can of Pringles that we ate during the hike. At the top of the trail there was a well that we drank from and filled our water bottle. We got down around 5 and jumped in the car and headed back to White River Junction. Jason called Emily on the way to let her know when we would get back as she was again slaving behind the stove. When we made it back Emily was just
Moose DroppingsMoose DroppingsMoose Droppings

Yes, we have moose sign.
wrapping up her supper of flank cut steaks, mashed potatoes and green beans. It was great. I pigged out. After the meal they appeased my Bruce Springsteen fix by allowing me to watch a Bruce DVD on their great sound system. It was like the Boss was doing a concert for us exclusively on that wide screen tv. I was in heaven surround by Emily, Jason and a life sized Bruce Springsteen. We went to bed around 10:30. Jason and Emily both had busy days the next day. I did too, but it was for personal reasons not employment reasons.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Where's that MooseWhere's that Moose
Where's that Moose

There's moose sign all over the place. We are knee deep in a bog, but yet we are not seeing these enormous creatures. Maybe I need my eyes checked.
Jason the Indian TrackerJason the Indian Tracker
Jason the Indian Tracker

Jason feeling the heat from the droppings to determine freshness. He said these droppings were just a few hours old!
Jason -Indian Tracker Pic 2Jason -Indian Tracker Pic 2
Jason -Indian Tracker Pic 2

After scouring the bank on the other side Jason determines there have been 5 moose, 3 whitetail deer and 2 squirrels crossing this stream in the last 24 hours. He also states 5 ducks have swam the stream, but I don't believe he really knows how many ducks swam the stream.
Jason -Indian Tracker TrainerJason -Indian Tracker Trainer
Jason -Indian Tracker Trainer

Jason teaching me the concentration required to be a good Indian Tracker. I told him no pictures, but he took one anyway.
Play TimePlay Time
Play Time

Even Indian Trackers need some play time.
Snow CoachSnow Coach
Snow Coach

Nice Ride.
Cell TowerCell Tower
Cell Tower

I love how they try and make the cell towers look like really tall trees. Actually, I do think this is a cool idea!


31st January 2007

Did you collect some moose droppings for souveneir?? ;)
31st January 2007

Yes I saved the droppings just for you since I hold you close to my heart. I'll have them for you sometime Mid-March.
1st February 2007

yea dave!
Looks like your having a blast!!! ur pictures with the bike are halarious! Thats awesome you got to see Jason and Emily! Talk to ya soon bro.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb