Travel Writing in Britain


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It;'s time to revitalize this blog. Tomorrow, I head off to England. The trip leader, Lucy, is already there. I meet the students at Logan and come over with them. It's an overnight flight, and I anticipate not getting much sleep. For now, however, I'm nervous and excited and want to get on with it. The past week, a vacation week so to speak, has been filled with heavy rain, I hope not to prepare me for the English weather. It's early but I put in all my garden, both plants and seeds. I predict some of them will not take, with all the wet, but I wanted to have things going before I left. There are a number of similar fixing-up-the-house sort of details to take care of before departure. Going away for this long seems such an interruption. Everything is put on hold. Maybe it feels this way because it is spring and there's the urge to growth and change, some of which will have to wait for three weeks. But the next three weeks will be an adventure. I am very excited to see the English countryside, especially the regions of Wales and Scotland. I want to see what they mean as existing as a separate country within the UK. Lucy warned us not to use the words "small" and "quaint" when talking about what we see. Obviously these come from a ethnocentric perspective. It may feel smaller, and it may be quaint, but its all relative.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0882s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb