Denver/Salt Lake City/Casper


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi

Well today I was intending to fly out from Denver to Casper in the early afternoon. The airline operates by assigning you a seat at the boarding desk rather than the computer doing it where you check in! So 30 mins before I was to board they told me and 7 other passengers that we couldn't board the 30 seater aeroplane to Casper, due to some ridiculous excuse about weight restrictions!! So after arguing this for half an hour or so, i eventually ended up with the airline booking me on a route via Salk Lake City that night or I could 'maybe' fly out in the morning 18 hours later direct to Casper!! So off I went off to Utah and despite the stress and waiting around I was rewarded with magnificent scenery between Denver and Salt Lake City. For those of you who don't know, Utah is the Mormon state effectively and there is a massive temple in the city that I have a photo of.
I managed to grab a pint of a locally brewed beer called Captain Bastards Oatmeal Stout, which was strong enough for me and then the best part of the day was taking off at sunset around 9-9.15pm, with red sky above the mountains reflecting in the Salt Lake and Salt Lake City was all illuminated. One of the most beautiful moments I have witnessed.


James


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb