Happy New Year!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
December 31st 2010
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

2010 was a year filled with the highest highs and lowest lows I've experienced in quite some time. I don't write about everything that happens to me... usually I only write about races I've run or places I've visited and so those of you who don't know me personally don't know that this year I lost two very important men in my life; a treasured uncle and my former father-in-law, my children's grandfather. Both men passed away within just a few months of each other and it was a very sad time for our family.

Just a month after the children's grandfather's funeral, my son and his wife of four years found out they were expecting a baby and I became a Grandma for the first time on December 9th when Hunter Lance Wallace was born. He is perfect in every way and it has been so much fun spending time with him. Having him around made Christmas a little more fun this year than it has been since my own children were home. For the first time in several years I decorated a Christmas tree and made a giant gingerbread house along with a few dozen gingerbread men who hung on the tree with red satin ribbons and popcorn strands. And most of the gifts under the tree were for a cute little 2-week old baby who wouldn't be able to play with them for at least a year but what are grandparents for if not to spoil their grandchildren? A grandmother...it makes me laugh to say it, and I certainly don't think I look like one, at least not the grandmothers I knew growing up, but I feel so fortunate I get to be one. I have so many close friends who will never get the opportunity.

I may be a grandmother, but I'm also a runner. Thank goodness, too...otherwise I might look like a grandmother! In 2010 I ran 832 miles, missing my goal of 1000 by just 168 miles. I'm part of a virtual running club with members all over the world. Our goal for 2010 was for each member to run 1000 miles. We posted our mileage updates regularly, which allowed us to keep track of each other's mileage as well. Many of us became good friends over the course of the year, encouraging each other and providing motivation when it was needed. I missed the goal by 168 miles and a few other team members missed the goal as well for one reason or another, but most of the team made it with months and miles to spare.

Beginning tomorrow morning, however, everyone gets a clean slate and I'm hoping 2011 will see me achieve that 1000 mile goal, as well as complete the various races I'm scheduled to run. At the moment I have 10 races on the calendar for the new year beginning with my first half marathon on January 16th in Phoenix. I've also registered for the Utah Grand Slam, a series of four Utah marathons. Registering for the Grand Slam is something I did in a single moment of pure ambition and since then I've been in a bit of panic mode as I've wondered how I'm going to complete those marathons AND the Marine Corps Marathon all in a five month span of time when I've never run back to back marathons in my entire life. But I guess the motto "Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained" applies and I'll just have to do it one step at a time. When the racing year is over I'll officially be a member of the Marathon Maniacs as three of my marathons are just five weeks apart, which qualifies me to be a Maniac...or just plain crazy, you decide.

See you in a few weeks from beautiful, sunny Phoenix where I hope to run 13.1 miles faster than 2 hours and 22 minutes. Happy New Year!



Advertisement



9th February 2011

pvt wojo
Sent ya a email on the other blog i think

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.1086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb