Salt Lake to Monument Valley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
June 24th 2005
Published: November 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

HeadquartersHeadquartersHeadquarters

The Mormon church
Well, Salt Lake City is the weirdest place I have ever been... Where are all the people, the town was deserted apart from the Mormons trying to haul us into there massive church. Which they did manage, I must admit I was really curious as to what the deal was with them. A couple of ladies took us around, one was from Brazil and the other from China, they both spoke to us like robots, there script was so well rehearsed it was so blatently obvious. They took us into the Church and showed us there massive statue of Jesus that started speaking to us in this American accent... Then they took us to this other room and showed us their living apostles and prophet! They were all white men either from the sates or from Germany. After that the two ladies started crying on cue, they cried their love for their prophets and church. They started asking for my address telling me that they get their English sisters to come and visit me! By this point I started to feel really uncomfortable and tried to look for my escape route out of there.

Having escaped the church I then
Jesus statueJesus statueJesus statue

The talking Jesus
discovered I had to become a member to go into a bar to have a drink! How funny is that! I stayed at the Little America Hotel which was anything but little - great value for money.

From Salt Lake City we went forth to Monument Valley. That place is HOT. Amazing scenery, unforgettable, I have always wanted to see those glorious buttes with my own eyes and am really pleased I went there. We stayed in Gouldings Lodge which was alright a bit pricey for what it is. The food at the lodge was not that great to be honest.

Off to the Grand Canyon...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Elephant ButteElephant Butte
Elephant Butte

Monument Valley
Wild HorseWild Horse
Wild Horse

Monument Valley
Sunrise 1Sunrise 1
Sunrise 1

Monument Valley
Sunrise 2Sunrise 2
Sunrise 2

Monument Valley
Sunrise 3Sunrise 3
Sunrise 3

Monument Valley


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb