Day 1- Adventures in Salt Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
April 6th 2007
Published: April 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I remember the first day I began the Spring Break Countdown on my computer three months ago. When I typed in the date of the 6th of April, it appeared to be an infinite time away. Yet, here we are today, the infinite has become the present. A year ago when I first visited Istanbul, Turkey I had to repeat a reoccurring ritual of pinching myself to make sure it was not a dream. In simpler terms, I figured I would have been visiting outer space before Asia. However, here I am again, traveling to the very place I realistically should have never visited in the first place!

Perhaps it was the Turkish Eye I purchased last year, promising return to Turkey of the buyer. Or perhaps it is the utter fascination of the unfamiliar that is causing the return. Whatever the reason, I now find myself in Salt Lake City before shooting across the country to JFK, hopping the puddle to London, and finally arriving in Istanbul.

Our first few hours freedom from high school came as a rush. I believe I witnessed the fasted flight from Jackson Hole to Salt Lake City ever accomplished. I had enough time to listen to one complete song on my Ipod before being asked to turn it off again before landing. This spectacular feat was not accomplished on accident, we had a pilot that used to, and probably still should be flying fighter jets. As I was stepping on to the runway my dad overheard him saying, With half a tank of fuel and a handful of passengers I felt like I was back in the seat of my fighter, I probably could have taken it even faster! Little did I know Jackson was not only the home of Dick Cheney, Harrison Ford, and Sandra Bullock.... It also attracted the Rickey Bobby of the sky.

Tomorrow we get up early to get to the airport. After a visit to my favorite Starbucks , we will begin the adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb