Utah - 'The Best Snow On Earth"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Joe and OlgaJoe and OlgaJoe and Olga

My friends in Albuquerque
And, apparently "The Best Fires On Earth". I slept under the glow from the blaze on Navajo Mountain. It was about 50 miles away and you could see the flames. From my understanding, that's a smaller one. Parts of Zion are closed and you can smell the smoke,as well as see it, from many miles away.

It has been a very fun couple of days. I am staying at Bryce Canyon; at the historic Ruby Inn. It's just a stupid Best Western. Rented a White Toyota Camry. Not a bad little car. But I digress.

Flew through Monument Valley on the way to Hall's Crossing Airport. It's ONLY ten miles from Lake Powell. Very hot and long bike ride. After sitting for a few minutes I decided to bike down to the ferry and take it to the other side of the lake. Not free like Hatteras. 12 bucks round trip for me and a bike. Biked some more, uphill of course, and ate at the Anasazi Lodge. Just some parks service place. It was OK. Biked back to catch the 7 PM ferry and made it in plenty of time. Talked with the crew. I was offered a
Chinle, AZChinle, AZChinle, AZ

On the way to Lake Powell
ride back to the airport by Diane. I thought that was great. I even got to ride in their little, leaky launch from the ferry to the dock. Don't tell the management. We stopped at Diane's house where I met Mark, her husband, and a few other people. Scott, A NPS Cop, Matt, Ditto, Kirby, an NPS Ranger from Georgia, Chuck (I think) and some other guy. Mark and the other guy, well Chuck too, work on the roads out there. Anyway we hung around Mark and Dianes until about 11 PM. Kirby finally gave me a ride back to the airport. Slept under the plane. Windy but really nice. Mark came by in the morning so I took him on a quick sightseeing trip. Then hung out with Morey for a bit before leaving for Bryce.

Arrived in Bryce about 1130 AM. After getting kinda settled in went hiking through the Hoodoos of Bryce Canyon. Really one the most beautiful places I've ever been. Much more to say but this connection sucks so I want to publish,dammit.

I'm off this AM to California. I am going to have to divert around some fires as well as some mountains and militray operations areas. Such is life. Trying to make it to Mammoth Lake. Stop in Tonopah? Perhaps. I like the name.

Aloha


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lake Powell FerryLake Powell Ferry
Lake Powell Ferry

The Charles Hall
Lake PowellLake Powell
Lake Powell

From Halls' Crossing
MoreyMorey
Morey

Airport Manager-Hall's Crossing-"I am here 25 hours a day,8 Days a Week, 53 wekks a year"
Navajo LoopNavajo Loop
Navajo Loop

Bryce Canyon
Wall of WindowsWall of Windows
Wall of Windows

Peek-a-Boo Trail-Bryce
HoodooHoodoo
Hoodoo

Coyotes turn men into stone


28th June 2006

I really am enjoying your vacation
I look forward each day to your narration and pix. I spent many months doing research in that 4 corners area so, it brings me back. I am loving your panoramic photos and detailed experiences. You certainly live life in every breath. Thank you for sharing. Dot.
28th June 2006

HI
WISH I COULD HAVE WENT WITH YOU
28th June 2006

Bite Me!!!
Can't believe how Kewl this trip is. Continue to keep us updated. Just returned from Soggy Washington DC. Beer Festival in Virginia. Leaving for Charlotte, NC on Friday.
28th June 2006

I can't believe their brisket was better, I won't mention that fact to Ted. Be safe, love ya
29th June 2006

Fly right!
Sounds like you are having a great time - continue!!!!!
29th June 2006

Hoodoo!
I've read up on Bryce Canyon and read water and ice worn the canyon rocks into odd shapes in more than 60 shades of red, pink, copper and cream. The bright colors change with the sunlight. Geologists say that 60 million years of history of the earth's crust can be read in the rocks. It's all pretty amazing. Be well Tom...
30th June 2006

= )
i went to monument valley too! and i got a 100% on my first flying quiz..YAY for me .. love you<3be careful

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb