Day 11: Salt Lake City to Bryce Canyon - the most amazing place on earth


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon
August 11th 2011
Published: August 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well today I'm going to keep it short & sweet as hopefully the photo's will say it all.

We left Salt Lake City early this morning. The coach trip was quiet as the tour director Bob was taken sick so was taken to hospital so we missed his commentary along the route. So as many a morning I slept most of the journey but woke up in the most amazing place I've ever seen.

The day was spent in Bryce Canyon in Utah. Now I'm just going to write out the map were given. The pillars of rock are known as Hoodoos which have been left by erosion. Geologists say that 10 million years ago forces within the Earth created these blocks by ancient rivers carving the tops & exposing & sculpting the formations. After 1900 people started to see these colorful geologic sights and in 1924 the legislation was created to protect the canyons & became part of Bryce Canyon National Park. Each year around 1.5million people visit the park.

I've taken nearly 70 photo's so just attached a few! It's at times like this I wish I'd bought a better camera & they don't come out very well on this blog.

Now in my opinion this is much more impressive than the Grand Canyon & many agreed on the trip. It was one of those moments in life where you just keeping going, "wow, wow, and round another corner the view just keeps getting better & better. I'll be back in the Grand Canyon in 2 days so I'll see what I think. The photo's don't do it justice & is just one of those places you just need to see & experience yourself.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb