Grand Tour of Texas: Day 4 Odessa, El Paso, Marfa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
December 20th 2010
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Odessa Meteor CraterOdessa Meteor CraterOdessa Meteor Crater

You can barely tell it is there!
Day 4 of the Grand Tour of Texas!!!!

Started my morning off by going to the Odessa Meteor Crater....which you will barely notice if you weren't told it was there. Its sort of just like a pit with rocks. But still, a crater is a crater and it is there for a reason. It was worth checking it out and seeing the little visitor's center.

Heading to Monahan Sand Hills State Park next. It’s weird seeing sand dunes out of nowhere in Texas. Its like they have nowhere else to go so they just all congregated in the same area. The dunes are deceptively high and hiking up to one of them takes some effort with the sinking in the sand and all. What I like best is seeing clear animal tracks on the sand, also looking back at my own tracks and remembering cheesy poems as I see only my set of footprints.

I made a straight shot to Pecos, TX afterwards where there is not much there and heading to a drive alongside the Guadalupe Mountains. I saw the magnificent El Capitan, the southernmost end of the ancient barrier reef that now stands as a mountain.
Monahan Sand Hills State ParkMonahan Sand Hills State ParkMonahan Sand Hills State Park

Dunes in the middle of West Texas!
Awesome stuff! Especially looking back from the salt flats.

Drove to Cornudos, TX, population 6-8. That’s what the sign says. Its pretty much just a collection of shanty houses, trailers, and a restaurant that serves AWESOME burgers. I ate a delicious all beef hamburger with a green chili in it. It was delicious! Its called May's cafe and if you are ever in the area, stop by and say hi to May.

Arrived in El Paso by way of the Franklin Mountains Scenic Drive. I took a quick tour of the Ysleta Mission before I headed over to my brother Luis's place. After chatting with him and his daughter for a while we decided it be fun for them to tag along for at least a night while he heads down to Laredo, TX for the holidays. I'd eventually join them during a small break of my tour.

We packed up the van and drove in the night to Marfa for some mysterious lights!!!! On the way we stopped by the Prada Store installation and took a couple of pictures. We arrived in Marfa really late at night, 2am or so. We saw the lights blinking on and off in the distance looking as eerie as I remembered them to be. It was COLD and clear that night. We could see a billion stars, the Milky Way, and the most awesome view of the Lunar Eclipse turning the bright moon blood red.

That is probably my favorite moment of the trip so far, freezing, wrapping my niece in my Dallas Cowboys snuggie, watching the Marfa Lights, Stars, and Eclipse. I'll remember this forever!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Top of the HillTop of the Hill
Top of the Hill

The picture doesn't capture the essence or the height of actually making it to the top of the dune.
The Skies at NightThe Skies at Night
The Skies at Night

Orion is my Favorite constellation EVER!
Marfa Lights!!!!!Marfa Lights!!!!!
Marfa Lights!!!!!

Spooky and COLD! That white dot back there is a Marfa Light!
Pillow FightPillow Fight
Pillow Fight

Mayhem in the Hotel


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb