Junction


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
March 24th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi and thanks for the comment answers; hey , news back to us is cool TYTY
Last night was like being in Ontario; 28F the flashing sign said in Junction , as I was on my way to get a morning paper (San antonio one) and a coffee. 6:15 is a bit early for Rick so it's best I get up and get out! I had to scrape the windshield! Not knowing there was a scrapper in the car, I used a credit card! That worked. Breakfast at Isaack's. Two eggs easy over and 2 biscuits! And coffee. If I wake up earlier than 6, such as 5, I head to the ladies room; sit in a shower stall and read or knit. Today I had my shower at 5; it was dark then! On my way back saw 3 deer ; I scared them a lot; even though I was standing still; they raced around and finally cut thru a thicket.
Yup; microwave is a great idea. Tonite I'll do some chicken breasts up; they'll keep in the cooler (especially at this temp!); got pre-cooked chicken thighs for Rick's supper tonite.
Yes, he is golfing; only the 3rd time this week. Yesterday the high was 46 F and a cold wind.
We were in kerrville ; got the oil changed; that took ages! No more Walmart oil changes!
Today's am trip was really fun; went a bit west of Junction to Fort McKavett. It's only open Fri to mon; and we lucked on a full fledged "pioneer day" at the fort , which they are doing for school kids today and anyone who visits the fort tomorrow. All military there in various uniforms ; they lined up all the kids behind the cannons (4) and then fired them off! Big blasts and a lot of smoke . Don't know how many Spaniards or Indians they got!!!! We talked to a guy in uniform who gave us the low down on where to shop for good deals in Albuquerque/Santa Fe area. He is from New Mexico. Other people in "frontier early days costumes " were soapmakers; a forge guy; an Indian chief; buffalo hunter; knitter and yarn worker; ranch wagon cooking person; travel wagon cooking person. All very neat! The kids were in groups of 15 and moved from station to station. One guy let me make a "rope" using a very old machine. And 2 guys were cooking gorgeous ham steaks over an open fire; to be served to the staff for lunch. I wanted to be staff!
That about ends our Junction side trips ; 4 in all ; one to Mason; 2 to Kerrville and this last one to Fort McKavett.
It is 58 F out now; sunny . And finally a day with no wind.
It is definitely deer hunting country. Deer are everywhere. Both dead , at the side of the road, where they stay til the vultures are done; and alive. Trucks here all seem to be white! And they all have protection bars at the front, to protect from the deer. One nice lady we talked to in this library said when she moved here she was told sooner or later she would hit a deer. And she said they did after 2 years here.
There are 3 kinds of deer here. We saw so many just on our way to the Fort.
The fort was on a high peak , and the view all around it was pretty neat.
And the animal we saw the monday of this week, was a member of the cat family ; and a breed now somewhat endangered. It was a jaguarundi.
We also saw a wild turkey on the side of the road today; as well as lots of ranch animals ( cows; goats, sheep ) LOTs of them!!! the wild turkey's colours were magnificant (like Mexican colours)
Last night I got spooked ; thought Rick was an intruder. At 2 am ; because I thought he was lying down. So I screamed at theintruder to "stay out" or something. Rick said"Pooh, it's me" I scared us both for a minute there; then we laughed.
I can write again next week i hope; if the Fort Stockton library has computer use.
Have a nice weekend all.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb