In a Box, In a Box Truck


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
March 2nd 2008
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, today wasn’t quite as exciting as yesterday. But it sure started out fun!

I wore my in-a-box shirt for load in, but today, instead of riding in the van, I rode in the truck- in the back of the truck. In a box! A block or two from the venue, we hopped out and I got in a box labeled Mollie (who knows why). Back in the truck for the rest of the ride.

First of all, let me tell you some things about being in a box in the back of a locked box truck. First of all, everything is black, and you’re moving, so you eventually lose any sense of which way is up or forward or anything. Very odd. On top of that, everything is louder. The axles squeak like a mother, along with the echoes of everything. I texted Anne from in the box, “I AM AUNTIE IN A BOX. Go for box.” Then, I head Kyle get out, and meet up with the girls, and introduce themselves to tech people and started getting the truck unloaded. “Just set this one to the side for a bit.” Dragged onto the gate, lowered down, lifted off (really weird levitating), almost dropped on the pavement, then the handles snapped down, very loud. I sat there for a minute or two, trying not to laugh. (Don’t worry, I had my phone and a radio with Kyle.)

Then I heard Sarah say, “Ok, let’s get this one opened now.” There’s like a million straps keeping this thing closed, and the lid isn’t too easy to get off either. She opened it, as a few locals came over to help. I sat up, yawned, ask if we were there yet and what city we were in. The guys got a kick out of it! (We were told by another crew that they’d think it was great.) It was a blast! The said they’d be talking about it for decades.

Everything went pretty well. Crew wasn’t overly experienced, but very willing (old, retired guys.) Had to cut a few things because the stage house was so small. The guys certainly were funny. Kyle was playing my focus mix for me, and I was running (dancing) around with a bird puppet to Johnny Cash. Jeff, the TD was talking to Sarah. “Who is the Cash fan?... Man, she is so fun! I was telling my wife earlier, I don’t know whether I want to adopt Jami, or run away with her.” Definitely the quote of the day.

Our big-wig producer lady, Julia, came out to see the show. Good times. A little more stressful on some people. Good chats with her.

Last show for a bit. Headed for some days off, again. I wish we’d just stay on the road. Farewell Kerrville!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb