The greatest little POW Camp in Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Waco
May 10th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was searching for a good medium to share all of my travels this upcoming year. I think that this will do quite nicely. I should have started this last year when I began training in South Dakota. Since June of last year I have trained for this deployment in the Black Hills of South Dakota, twice in Sparta - Wisconsin, Augusta - Georgia, Monterrey - California, and Gatesville - Texas.
The title of this entry is the "Greatest Little POW Camp in Texas." Why? Well, for the last month I have been stationed in North Fort Hood, Texas. North Fort Hood is where the Army housed German POWs during WWII. Most of the buildings that the POWs lived in and, the fields that they farmed are still here. Problem is most buildings have not been kept up. The PX (Post Exchange) has very little in the way of anything worth buying. They are often out of everything but small socks and vienna sausages. We are fed well and have some Internet so I shouldn't complain too much. I will continue to add more thoughts and pictures as new things happen.

Advertisement



11th May 2008

as usual. . .
As usual, I am always learning things from you! I did not know that such a camp existed. It a commentary on our past. A shame that more don't know of its existence!
15th May 2008

Hi Michael
Thank you for sharing these pictures and information. This is very interesting!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb