On the Road Again - Somewhere in Texas!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Sealy
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

It was sad to have to leave New Orleans - could have stayed a month to get to see everything I wanted to. A good reason for another visit. Marcel, we did the trolley, a couple of clubs, not the ice cream. Walked the French Quarter for hours. I really wanted to go to the beaches but did not get a chance. When you are in the city, you would never know about the oil spill, but certainly, it is all over the news and people are very angry about it.

And so, we had to leave this wonderful city and we were on the road early this morning. Bill had a hard time, causeway after causeway, followed by high bridges. He lit up a cigarette every time we came to one and so by the time we hit Houston, he ran out of Canadian cigarettes. But, still would not let me drive. Driving through Texas, so far, has been HOT, FLAT and lots of oil rigs. (of course)

Another Agnes story -

Back to Agnes - Bill finally agreed to listen to her and so we were driving along I-10 west towards San Antonio and Agnes said "take exit 231A, turn right" and Bill complied! Drove about 300 meters and Agnes says " in 200 meters make a U turn" and of course, we did, only to get back on the I-10 west exactly where we got off. And so, Agnes has been relegated to the glove compartment until tomorrow.

Tonya, as my girls always say, I may be smart, but sometimes I do not have a lot of common sense, I could not figure out why only men were wearing the beads! -Not to worry, I did not get the beads the legit way, so no pictures for my grandchildren to see, but lots of beads for the girls.

Tonight, we are staying in a hotel not too far from San Antonio (about 100 miles) and plan to be there early tomorrow morning to see the Alamo - and do "the river walk" which is supposed to be beautiful.

Ah, so this is what retirement is all about.

Hope everyone is well, miss all of you.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb