31 Days Until Dubai/Chennai


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
November 16th 2013
Published: November 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

30 some odd days until the India trip. So far, I have packed two boxes of cinnamon pop-tarts, and 2 skirts, some underwear, and two pairs of pants. (The pants are mostly because I have heard this rumor that I can take clothes and have them "copied" so that I have more pairs of jeans). Honestly I don't know what else to take. I did Europe with one backpack, and never dug into half the stuff I carried, so I am a bit hesitant to pack more this trip. I do plan on buying a lot of the merchandise in India. I am spending Christmas and New Years 2014 over there so I figured I could buy most goods.

So for this trip I had to get a number of shots, (finally done, except Tetnus. I know I got the shot, but I need to find record of it.) Shots included Polio boosters, Typhoid, Hep A adult booster, flu shot, and some others I can't remember.

I also received my Visa- (YEA!)

I have my travel documents, Flight schedules, ect.

Right now in the states I am working two jobs to have spending money while over seas, and not have to come back broke. One perk about working where I work, is that Kamel has been teaching me Arabic/Indian number systems. I can now fully write and understand all number combinations 😊 I have not had so much luck on the adding/subtracting more than two separate number combos. (i.e. 213+887345) I have trouble with adding more than two sets of numbers because in my head I still translate the Indian numbers back to English in my head, (0=5, 4= a backwards 3) so when there are more sets to memorize, it is hard to do it in my head. I'll get it though. Practice makes perfect, and it is a great skill to have when haggling!

See ya'll in India!

Advertisement



19th November 2013

Comment
You are going to be so bloody jet lagged if your only gonna be there for four days. See I don\'t really get jet lagged but I think if I was taking a 16 to 20 hour flight then... well... it would likely happen. Also, why specifically Chennai? Cheap Ticket? Or is it supposed to be a cool place? I always heard Karelia was cool. I think if I ever decided to go to India I\'d probably end up going to Sikkim, Kashmir and Kerelia... maybe Goa, but the party scene isn\'t very alluring to me anymore. I looked into Pondicherry once, or Puducherry as they now call it. You know... random thought... it kinda pissed me off that they changed the names to more \"Indian\" names, they were easier to remember in British and French. At least they didn\'t do away with GOA. Bloody people must have an affinity for the Portuguese. Again off the topic... but that\'s one place I\'d really like to go is the Azores... ya know...speaking of the Portuguese. I really want to go there. Also, I\'d like to do it by boat. Its weird cause my mom was a flight attendant for 17 years and I have always flown around the world since i was 1 month old.(weird thing is ... I don\'t think I have ever typed \"flown\" in my life. Not even sure if its a word its so distanced from me in my typography) But back on topic... all of a sudden, I have grown weary of flying. I get vertigo when I look out the window. I almost have to be drunk to fly. But if i do that I sleep for 2 days and am indeed jet lagged then. I gotta be frank, its quite nice to meet someone so randomly in America who has a similar bent on life(based on your travel quote philosophy). I can identify with you on those points. The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page. Saint Augustine And in this quote I have found particular truth... He travels the fastest who travels alone. Rudyard Kipling That one is so true. I only ever traveled alone. Once I traveled with a good Russian friend of mine. He was in his BMW M5, I was in my little Boxster. So technically we travelled together, me mostly behind him because he would drive as fast as 180mph. I lost him at the Swiss boarder after I had been driving 250 KPH for 3 hours. Those Swiss cops didn\'t like his Russian accent or his black m5 with tinted windows. Funny thing was that he felt like he had fucked them over when he found one of their swiss version Maglites in his trunk. haha. yeah. He felt like he came out on top for some reason. God I miss Europe. Really a piece of you is left abroad. For me 8 years has been left abroad. I\'ve been back here for a year and can barely stand it. Often I drive out to West Texas, Rocksprings, Leakey, Uvalde, Comstock, Langtry and Loma Alta just to clear my head and get away from this damn civilization. You should google earth those places but it is far better to see them in person. I think the older I get the more of a loner I become. Well, that true in Texas at least. In Europe im much more... social :). I guess thats cause I feel that they are more social. Also, you must know... its like me to spill the beans like this. Besides that I am particularly bored here right now. :) so yeah. I just say what I want and dont have apologies for it either. I wish more people would do the same. I think thats why I get on so well with Europeans. Also, i dont think i understand my own country men so well... this after being in europe for 8 years. Its a bit odd you know. I like to think I have all the best things a Texan can have and all the best things a European can have. I gotta be frank again though. I didnt pick up many good things from the Germans while i lived there for 2 years. But the Swiss and the Brits.... yeah. I got some good stuff. Especially linguistically if you cant by now ... tell. Well, haven\'t got much else to say. Hope you enjoyed my ramble and I presume I shall be seeing you around. God that sounded cheeky. Anyhow. Nice blog. Although the sites functionality isnt really all that great. Ever try WordPress? It be easier to generate a following. You know you and I should do a kickstarter video together. Try to raise funds for a documentary about hiking across the alps and talking to people. Youd be shocked.... it may well get funded. I saw one get funded for 80 grand and it was just a 130 mile hike. We are talking about hiking 800 or so miles. From France to CH, to Austria to Slovenia. I always wanted to do that. Beats sitting around here as i see it. Well God bless.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb