Road Trip Day 6


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
July 10th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


We got up early early to arrive in Houston by midday, about 350 miles. Sad to report that I saw no alligators throughout all of Louisiana or Eastern Texas. I saw a black floating scaly looking thing in the water, but I'd be lying to myself if I said I was sure it was a gator. Maybe a log, or maybe a dirty gator. I did see a whole bunch of armadillos, squashed like tires and one completely upside-down, feet sticking up in the air. The name of the game from New Orleans to Houston on I-10 is scary scary bridges. To leave New Orleans going west there is a bridge that spans at least 30 miles of swampy rivers and bayous. In a camper, frightening. There was another one that seemed nearly 90 degrees vert and as if it were opening up for a barge to pass. I thought we'd get to the top and slide back down. When we arrived in Houston we picked up the Espinoza's and Vincenzo got a break driving for the first time since Maine. We got to South Llano State Park very late and had a midnight barbecue in a spot that may or may not have been ours. I'm sure we were very loud and disruptive but we were having a great time catching up and eating meat. On the way into the park I saw a deer- or maybe it was a heat-induced mirage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

maybe a gator?maybe a gator?
maybe a gator?

or just a log.
is it real?is it real?
is it real?

yes, it's a bridge that we must cross
Houston, TexasHouston, Texas
Houston, Texas

So close, and yet so stuck behind farm equipment.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb